May 12, 2021 13:01 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
India records highest single-day Covid-19 toll with 4,205 deaths | Covaxin supplied to 18 states directly since May 1: Bharat Biotech | Nearly 90 pct of India witnessing high Covid positivity rate: Centre | PM Modi won't travel to UK for G-7 Summit in June | Cloud burst damages shops, houses in Uttarakhand's Devprayag
Border star Sunny Deol shines for BJP from Gurdaspur , Congress candidate Urmila Matondkar trails

Border star Sunny Deol shines for BJP from Gurdaspur , Congress candidate Urmila Matondkar trails

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 06:49 am

New Delhi, May 23 (IBNS): Several key celebrities are contesting the Lok Sabha polls this year and among them BJP leader Sunny Deol is currently leading in Punjab's Gurdaspur area.

Sunny, who is known for his performance in several patriotic movies in his Bollywood career, joined BJP ahead of the polls.

As the early trend shows that Sunny Deol from Punjab's Gurdaspur seat is leading with 1,23,813 votes, while Sunil Jakhar from Congress is trailing with 91,626 votes.

Another Bollywood celebrity, Urmila Matondkar, who has worked in movies with Sunny, is trailing in Mumbai North.  She is contesting for the Congress.

Both Sunny and Urmila made their Lok Sabha polls debut this year.

Urmila Matondkar from Mumbai North is trailing with 27,775 votes, while Gopal Shetty from BJP is leading with 84,701 votes.

Other celebrities and their performance so far:

In Uttar Pradesh's Mathura, Hema Malini from BJP is leading with 67,485 votes, Kunwar Narendra Singh of RLD is on the second position with 32,545 votes, while Congress candidate Mahesh Pathak is trailing at 3,197 votes.

From Bihar-Patna Sahib, Shatrughan Sinha from Congress is trailing with 31,074 votes, while his BJP rival and Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad is leading with 53,193 votes.

From Karnataka-Bangalore central, Prakash Raj who is contesting as an independent candidate is trailing with 10,168 votes, P C Mohan from BJP is also trailing with 2,09,197 votes, while Rizwan Arshad from Congress is ahead with 2,33,624 votes.

Gautam Gambhir is ahead with 45,977 votes in East Delhi, Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) candidate Atishi is trailing by 13,057 votes, and Arvinder Singh Lovely from Congress is trailing with 18,389 votes.

In North West Delhi, BJP's Hans Raj Hans is ahead with 93,758 votes, AAP's Gugan Singh is on second place with 31,547 votes, while Rajesh Lilothia of Congress is on third place with 23,719 votes.

In Uttar Pradesh-Fatehpur Sikri, Congress candidate Raj Babbar is trailing with 9,281 votes, while BJP's Rajkumar Chahar is leading ahead with 38,990 votes. BSP's ShreeBhagwan Sharma is on third place with 7,178 votes.

In Chandigarh, BJP's Kirron Kher is leading with 14,654 votes, while her Congress rival Pawan Kumar Bansal is trailing with 13,140 votes. Parveen Kumar from BSP is on third position with 586 votes.