August 03, 2021 16:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Karnataka ministry formation: BJP central leadership working on formula to avoid seniors' revolt | Wins and losses part of life, says Modi after Indian Hockey team crash out of Tokyo Olympics | Insult to Constitution, democracy, public: PM Modi slams Opposition's Parliament protests | Militant killed in Bandipora encounter | Parliament: Congress MP Rahul Gandhi holds Opposition's strategy meet, TMC joins
Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP maintains strong lead ahead of oppositions

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP maintains strong lead ahead of oppositions

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 04:28 am

New Delhi, May 23 (IBNS): The Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA is currently much ahead of its main opposition the Congress and other regional players as counting of votes of the Lok Sabha polls progressed on Thursday.

As per trends at 10 am, the BJP is leading in 320 seats, while the Congress is ahead in 116 seats. Others are marching in 104.

Interestingly, BJP chief Amit Shah had earlier said that his party will win over 300 seats in this year's Lok Sabha polls.

Among key candidates, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ahead from Varanasi seat in Uttar Pradesh. He is contesting for a second term from the seat. He had won the poll from Varanasi in 2014.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi is behind BJP's Smriti Irani by 6000 votes from Uttar Pradesh's Amethi seat.

In the 80-seat Uttar Pradesh, Bollywood actor and BJP candidate Jaya Prada was trailing in Rampur against SP's Azam Khan while UP Congress president Raj Babbar was behind his rival in Fatehpur Sikri.

BJP candidates are leading in Bareilly, Faizabad,Aligarh, Bhadoi, Pratapgarh, Moradabad, Mohanlalganj, Gorakhpur, Badaun, Fatehpur, Robertsganj, Sitapur, Pilibhit, Kaiserganj and other seats.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance are ahead in Baghpat, Mainpuri, Azamgarh, Aonla, Amroha, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnore, Rampur and some others.

Earlier, Congress was leading in Rae Bareli, Amethi and Saharanpur.

Meanwhile, dispute arose in some places like Gonda and Mirzapur where media was not allowed inside the counting centers.

Away from UP, BJP’s Kiren Rijjju leading by 3847 votes from Arunachal West constituency while from Arunachal East Tapir Gao of BJP is leading 614 votes.

In West Bengal, TMC is marching in 19 seats while the BJP is ahead in 17.

The Congress is leading in 2 seats.

BJP's Babul Supriyo is ahead in Asansol seat.