October 17, 2021 00:26 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Rahul Dravid set to become Team India coach after T20 World Cup: Reports | Sonia Gandhi slams govt over J&K civilian killings, questions silence on China | I am a full time, hands-on Congress president: Sonia Gandhi | Puducherry extends anti-COVID-19 restrictions till Oct 31 | India records 15,981 new COVID-19 cases in past 24 hours
Congress leaders to pick Rajasthan CM today
Image: twitter.com/SachinPilot

Congress leaders to pick Rajasthan CM today

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 12 Dec 2018, 05:15 am

Jaipur, Dec 12 (IBNS): After upsetting the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Rajasthan assembly polls, the Congress will pick its Chief Minister on Wednesday, media reports said.

The Congress' legislature party will meet in Jaipur, the state capital, to take a call on the Chief Minister.

The serious contenders for the topmost position are state unit chief Sachin Pilot and veteran Congress leader Ashok Gehlot.

One media report even claimed the new Congress Chief Minister might take oath on Dec 13.

Outgoing Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje on Tuesday submitted her resignation to Governor Kalyan Singh.

What happened in election results?

The results of 199 seats in a 200-member assembly elections were declared on Tuesday. Election in Alwar's Ramgarh constituency was postponed due to the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate.

Out of 199 seats, the Congress won 99, one short of the simple majority. The BJP, coming down from its earlier tally of 163, won 73 seats.

However, the Congress is set to form the government as it would get support from other smaller parties.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati has said her party will support the Congress to keep the BJP out of power.


Total Seats: 199

PARTIES               RESULTS              
Cong                            99                 
BJP                              73
BSP                             06
CPI-M                          02
BTP                             02
RLD                             01
RLP                             03
Independent                13