March 09, 2021 02:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Kolkata: At least 7, including firefighters, cops, die in Eastern Railway office-building fire | Fully vaccinated people can gather indoor without masks and social distancing: US medical body | As ministers talk about end of pandemic, IMA warns against 'unauthorized political statements' | Jyotiraditya Scindia would have become CM had he stayed with Congress: Rahul Gandhi | Assam polls: Jailed activist Akhil Gogoi files his nominations from hospital
NDPP bags Nagaland Lok Sabha by poll

NDPP bags Nagaland Lok Sabha by poll

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 01 Jun 2018, 08:33 am

Guwahati, May 31 (IBNS): The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)’s candidate Tokheho Yepthomi has won the by-election to the lone Lok Sabha Parliamentary constituency in Nagaland.

Tokheho Yepthomi, who has also served as a cabinet minister from 1995 to 2008, has won the seat by defeating his Naga People's Front rival C Apok Jamir, son of former Chief Minister SC Jamir, by a margin above 1.73 lakh votes.

Polling for the Nagaland Lok Sabha by poll was held on May 28 with voters’ turnout of above 75 per cent.

Out of total turnout, Neiphiu Rio-led NDPP candidate Tokheho Yepthomi bagged 5,94,205 votes, while NPF candidate secured 4,20,459 votes and 3991 voters voted for NOTA.

The by-election for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland was necessitated after NDPP leader and present Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio had resigned as a Lok Sabha member on February 16 last.

In this by-election, the Congress supported the NPF candidate.

In the last general election held in 2014, Neiphiu Rio, then NPF candidate had won the seat by defeating his Congress rival K V Pusa by a margin of 4,00,225 votes.

(Reported by Hemanta Kumar Nath, Guwahati)