February 06, 2023 14:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Narendra Modi to inaugurate India Energy Week 2023 tomorrow | Assam: G20 delegates visits Kaziranga National Park | Power Minister RK Singh calls upon G20 members to fight global warming, climate change | WPL: Mumbai Indians announces coaching team, Charlotte Edwards appointed head coach | Himachal Pradesh: One dies,5 injured in road accident in Una dist
Opposition to move SC over rejection of impeachment motion against CJI

Opposition to move SC over rejection of impeachment motion against CJI

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 Apr 2018, 04:33 pm

New Delhi, Apr 23 (IBNS): The opposition on Monday said it will move to the  Supreme Court  over the rejection of impeachment motion against the Chief Justice of India by Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu.

"We'll certainly file a petition against this. We'll accept whatever SC decides," senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal said while addressing a press conference.

The BJP soon attacked the Congress and said it has a history of 'disrupting institutions of democracy'.

"Congress party has a long history of disrupting institutions of democracy," said BJP leader Meenakashi Lekhi while addressing a press conference.

"They are trying to create an atmosphere where peple loose faith on judiciary," she said.

Vice President Venkaiah Naidu on Monday rejected the opposition's impeachment motion which was brought against Chief Justice of India (CJI) Dipak Misra

Naidu earlier consulted legal experts on whether the opposition's notice for impeachment of Misra will be accepted or rejected.

As the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, he is the only person to decide on the issue.

Leaders of seven opposition parties on Friday submitted a notice for the impeachment of Misra to Naidu, reports said.

The move by the opposition came in the wake of the Supreme Court (SC) judgment on Thursday, which dismissed the demand for an investigation into the death of CBI judge BH Loya.

As many as 64 members of the Rajya Sabha, belonging to seven political parties signed the notice for impeachment proceedings against the CJI.

The MPs are from Congress, NCP, CPM, CPI, SP, BSP and Muslim League.

The notice mentioned five grounds of misbehaviour for the CJI's impeachment.

The impeachment move has its genesis in the public complaint made by four senior judges of the top court- Justices Jasti Chelameswar, Ranjan Gogoi, Madan B Lokur and Kurian Joseph-  that cases with far reaching consequences were assigned to selective judges.

Justice Chelameswar, who represented the four judges in an unprecedented press conference, said they had approached the CJI with a letter but failed to convince him.