June 13, 2024 02:18 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After heated campaigns, PM Modi shares pleasantries with Naveen Patnaik at Odisha oath ceremony | Newly formed Odisha govt decides to reopen all gates of Puri Jagannath Temple in first cabinet meet | Kuwait building fire kills 40 Indian nationals, PM Modi holds high-level meeting | 'Deeply shocked, will render fullest assistance': S Jaishankar on Kuwait building fire that killed 40 Indians | One CRPF, two terrorists killed in Jammu and Kashmir encounter
PM Modi congratulates Dalveer Bhandari, says appointment a proud moment for India

PM Modi congratulates Dalveer Bhandari, says appointment a proud moment for India

| @indiablooms | 21 Nov 2017, 11:21 am

New Delhi, Nov 21 (IBNS): Prime Minister Narendra Modi was all praise for India's External Affairs Ministry after Indian judge Dalveer Bhandari was re-elected to the International Court of Justice.

"I congratulate Justice Dalveer Bhandari on being re-elected to the International Court of Justice. His re-election is a proud moment for us," the Prime Minister tweeted.

In an ensuing tweet, he hailed his colleague and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj for the victory.

"Congratulations to EAM @SushmaSwaraj and her entire team at MEA & diplomatic missions for their untiring efforts that have led to India’s re-election to ICJ. Our deep gratitude to all the members of UNGA as well as UNSC for their support and trust in India."

Meanwhile, the United Kingdom, a permanent member of the UN, had to withdraw its candidate, Christopher Greenwood after the Indian judge secured a majority in the elections.

Bhandari filled the 15th and the last seat of IJC, as UK went without a seat for the first time in 71 years.

Bhandari joins Ronny Abraham of France, Chaloka Beyani (Zambia), Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil), Nawaf Salam (Lebanon), and Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) as the five judges who will serve along with ten other judges at the ICJ.

Their nine-year terms begin 6 February 2018.


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.