Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails111112e.php on line 3

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails111112e.php on line 3

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails111112e.php on line 25
Indian Oil retain 117th Beighton Cup
Make this your homepage
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS

Indian Oil retain 117th Beighton Cup

India Blooms News Service

Kolkata, Nov 11 (IBNS) Star studded Indian Oil Corporation retained Sahara India 117th Beighton Cup hockey championship with a scintillating stick-work defeating Punjab National Bank 5-2 in the final at SAI's astro turf complex in Salt Lake here Sunday.

This was OIC's third triumph in four finals they played since 2009.

The Oilmen led 2-0 in first-half with goals from Gurjinder Singh from penalty corner inside twelve minutes while Bikash Sharma made it double for the high-profile side hitting the board with a reverse stick in the 31st minute.

Resumption of the second half saw the bankmen ran down the flank and reduced the margin with a field goal from Jalwinder Singh within (2-1).

But before the bankmen regroup for another onslaught, Oilmen took control over the proceeding and increased the tally in the 38th minute with fine goal from Roshan Minz (3-1), who doubled his score in the 59th minute and 4-1 for IOC.

PNB, who have been playing this world's oldest hockey tournament for the second time after making in the semis in 2011, tried to return to the game and again reduce the gap with a penalty corner goal from Lukwinder Singh in the 68th minute.

But the Oilmen playing the finals for four-year in a row since their debut in 2009 blasted one more salvo in the dying second from ex-Olympian Deepak Thakur, whose total goal tally in the competition was highest with eight goals, including a hat-trick..

IOC in their rank have four Olympians and as many India-Internationals.

Earlier the players were introduced to state tourism minister Rachpal Singh, field hockey Olympian Keshav Dutt, former India football captain Chuni Goswamy and Bengal Hockey Association president Gautam Mohan Chabraborty.

(Reporting by Manik Banerjee)

To Post Your Comment On This Article Click Here
Comments Posted on this news:

There are no comments on this News.

indian news portal IBNS
Related Sports News
"Pro League will change face of Indian hockey"
Will give players fair deal: MS Gill
Hockey officials in Pune to resolve impasse

More Sports
Sports Archive >>   

WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   Shree Shivchhatrapati Sports Complex   Tampines Rovers   Pune FC   AFC Cup   Thomas Cup India Group C   Thomas Cup draw   52nd State Chess Championship Kolkata   52nd State Chess Championship   Mumbai FC   Mumbai FC Shillong Lajong   India Australia World T20   India beat Australia   Debraj Mohun Bagan Mount Everest   Mohun Bagan fan Mt Everest   Australia India   Australia India World T20   Pakistan   World T20   Pakistan beat Bangladesh   India in trouble   Australia India World T20   Australia win toss   Hockey India   Hockey India FIH rules June 1   Mumbai FC Shillong   Mumbai FC football   South Africa World T20   South Africa win   andidates Chess   Viswanathan Anand Candidates Chess   Hockey India Afghanistan Hockey Federation   Hockey India   New Zealand win   Netherlands   New Zealand beat Netherlands   Gavaskar in IPL   IPL interim chief   Sunil Gavaskar   Kevin Pietersen   CPL Kevin Pietersen   India Bangladesh World T20   India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   Pune FC draw   Pune FC bangalore   St Xaviers college win   St Xaviers college  

indian news portal IBNS
IndiaBlooms Plus
indiablooms Video
BJP lashes out at Rahul Gandhi's statement on Imran Masood Bani : Bani is no more , Maya will play the role Cheerleaders dance their way to a spot on NFL squad
Photo Feature
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
indian news portal IBNS





indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
About Us  |  Writers  |  Advertise with Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap   |  Send Feedback
Copyright © 2008 Indiablooms.com. All rights reserved.   Copyright / IP Policy   |  Company Info
Increase Page Rank