Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails020712d.php on line 3

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/indiab/public_html/include/connDB.php:13) in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails020712d.php on line 3

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/indiab/public_html/SportsDetailsPage/2012/sportsDetails020712d.php on line 25
Toress earns Euro 2012 Golden Boot
Make this your homepage
indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS

Toress earns Euro 2012 Golden Boot

India Blooms News Service

Kiev, July 2 (IBNS) Fernando Torres scored one and set up another in the closing stages of UEFA EURO 2012 to take the adidas Golden Boot award.

Torres finishes tied with five other players on three goals for the tournament, with he and Germany's Mario Gomez also on one assist apiece. The Spain striker, a second-half substitute in the 4-0 final win against Italy, takes the top-scorers' honour having played fewer
minutes (189) at the finals than Gomez (282).

Four years ago, Torres scored the only goal in the decider against Germany but it was team-mate David Villa who finished as leading scorer. At the time, Villa became the first player to claim both that honour and the Henri Delaunay Cup since Denmark's Henrik Larsen earned a share of the scoring prize in 1992.

Netherlands striker Klaas-Jan Huntelaar finished UEFA EURO 2012's top scorer overall thanks to his 12 qualifying goals, his overall total two more than Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo and Germany striker Miroslav Klose, whose team-mate Gomez managed nine goals in qualifying and the final tournament.

Michel Platini's nine goals at the 1984 UEFA European Championship makes him the top scorer for a single tournament – no one else has managed more than five – and also overall in a finals. The former France forward's tally is two more than Alan Shearer's seven for England, while six players – including Zlatan Ibrahimović and Ronaldo, who both struck at UEFA EURO 2012 – have managed six goals in finals.

When players finish level on goals:
The following criteria are applied, in this order, to determine who wins the adidas Golden Shoe:
a) highest number of assists;
b) fewest minutes played.

NB: Only goals scored in normal or extra time count towards a player's tournament total – penalties scored in a shoot-out do not.

UEFA EURO 2012 final tournament top scorers
Fernando Torres (Spain)
Mario Gomez (Germany)
Mario Balotelli (Italy)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Alan Dzagoev (Russia)
Mario Mandžukić (Croatia)

Nicklas Bendtner (Denmark)
Cesc Fŕbregas (Spain)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
Petr Jiráček (Czech Republic)
Michael Krohn-Dehli (Denmark)
Václav Pilař (Czech Republic)
Dimitris Salpingidis (Greece)
Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Xabi Alonso (Spain)
David Silva (Spain)

UEFA EURO 2012 overall top scorers
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Netherlands)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Miroslav Klose (Germany)
Mario Gomez (Germany)
Antonio Cassano (Italy)
Alan Dzagoev (Russia)
Mikael Forssell (Finland)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
Robbie Keane (Republic of Ireland)
Robin van Persie (Netherlands)
David Villa (Spain)

UEFA European Championship finals top scorers year by year
(1960-1976: from semi-finals; 1980-2008: from final tournament group stage)
2008: David Villa (Spain) 4
2004: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic) 5
2000: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milošević (Yugoslavia) 5
1996: Alan Shearer (England) 5
1992: Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Thomas Brolin (Sweden), Henrik
Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinze Riedle (Germany) 3
1988: Marco van Basten (Netherlands) 5
1984: Michel Platini (France) 9
1980: Klaus Allofs (West Germany) 3
1976: Dieter Müller (West Germany) 4
1972: Gerd Müller (West Germany) 4
1968: Dragan Džajić (Yugoslavia) 2
1964: Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Dezső Novák (Hungary), Jesús María Pereda (Spain) 2
1960: Milan Galić (Yugoslavia), François Heutte (France), Valentin
Ivanov (Soviet Union), Dražan Jerković (Yugoslavia), Viktor Ponedelnik
(Soviet Union) 2

UEFA European Championship final tournament overall top scorers
9: Michel Platini (France)
7: Alan Shearer (England)
6: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Thierry Henry (France), Zlatan
Ibrahimović (Sweden), Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Nuno Gomes
(Portugal), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands)
5: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic), Jürgen Klinsmann (Germany), Savo
Milošević (Serbia), Wayne Rooney (England), Marco van Basten
(Netherlands), Zinédine Zidane (France)

(Courtesy UEFA)

To Post Your Comment On This Article Click Here
Comments Posted on this news:

There are no comments on this News.

Related Sports Video
India Blooms Video Spaniards in Madrid celebrate Euro 2012 victory India Blooms Video EURO 2012: Italian fans stunned by defeat
indian news portal IBNS
Related Sports News
England defender Neil Taylor to visit Kolkata
Conditioning Course ends on a high
HHIL gets 1.5 cr viewers in first week
Sports 2012: Reliving dreams
Sunil Chhetri signs with Portuguese club

More Sports
Sports Archive >>   

WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   WT20: Netherlands beat England by 45 runs   Shree Shivchhatrapati Sports Complex   Tampines Rovers   Pune FC   AFC Cup   Thomas Cup India Group C   Thomas Cup draw   52nd State Chess Championship Kolkata   52nd State Chess Championship   Mumbai FC   Mumbai FC Shillong Lajong   India Australia World T20   India beat Australia   Debraj Mohun Bagan Mount Everest   Mohun Bagan fan Mt Everest   Australia India   Australia India World T20   Pakistan   World T20   Pakistan beat Bangladesh   India in trouble   Australia India World T20   Australia win toss   Hockey India   Hockey India FIH rules June 1   Mumbai FC Shillong   Mumbai FC football   South Africa World T20   South Africa win   andidates Chess   Viswanathan Anand Candidates Chess   Hockey India Afghanistan Hockey Federation   Hockey India   New Zealand win   Netherlands   New Zealand beat Netherlands   Gavaskar in IPL   IPL interim chief   Sunil Gavaskar   Kevin Pietersen   CPL Kevin Pietersen   India Bangladesh World T20   India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   WT20: India beat Bangladesh   Pune FC draw   Pune FC bangalore   St Xaviers college win   St Xaviers college  

indian news portal IBNS
IndiaBlooms Plus
indiablooms Video
BJP lashes out at Rahul Gandhi's statement on Imran Masood Bani : Bani is no more , Maya will play the role Cheerleaders dance their way to a spot on NFL squad
Photo Feature
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
DWIH hosts road show in Science City 2 States:New Poster Nissan launches Datsun Go
indian news portal IBNS





indian news portal IBNS
indian news portal IBNS
About Us  |  Writers  |  Advertise with Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap   |  Send Feedback
Copyright © 2008 Indiablooms.com. All rights reserved.   Copyright / IP Policy   |  Company Info
Increase Page Rank