July 19, 2024 02:13 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
NEET-UG 2024 retest to be held only if sanctity is lost due to paperleak on large scale: Supreme Court | Avoid travel and minimize movement: India's advisory to its nationals in Bangladesh amid Jatrabari violence | No systemic failure: NTA to Supreme Court on NEET-UG 2024 paper leak | Controversial IAS officer Puja Khedkar's mother Manorama Khedkar detained | US President Joe Biden tests Covid-19 positive with mild symptoms
We are proud of the Indian Cricket Team: Narendra Modi congratulates Rohit Sharma and his team after T20 World Cup victory
Narendra Modi
Photo courtesy: PIB

We are proud of the Indian Cricket Team: Narendra Modi congratulates Rohit Sharma and his team after T20 World Cup victory

| @indiablooms | 30 Jun 2024, 12:53 am

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday led the cricket-crazy nation to wish the Indian cricket team after they defeated South Africa by seven runs to win the second T20 World Cup in the history of the marquee tournament.

India had won the inaugural edition in 2007 under MS Dhoni's leadership.

Wishing winning skipper Rohit Sharma, who was also part of the 2007 winning side, and his men, Modi said the whole country is proud of the team's achievement and applauded its performance."

He said the Indian team made things more compelling by winning every single match.

"Our team brings the T20 World Cup home in STYLE! We are proud of the Indian Cricket Team.This match was HISTORIC," he posted on X along with a congratulatory video.

Modi was present in the Ahmedabad stadium last year when Australia defeated India in the final of the 50-over tournament.

India defeated South Africa  by seven runs in the final to lift the T20 World Cup on Saturday.

After posting 176 runs for the loss of seven wickets, Indian bowlers finished the task by restricting South Africa to 169 runs for the loss of eight wickets.

India had last won the title in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

Apart from bowling the tight last over, Hardik Pandya remained the strike bowler for India as he picked up three runs by giving away 20 runs.

Indian cricketer Virat Kohli top-scored for India by contributing 76 runs.

This was the first time South Africa played a T20 World Cup final.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.