February 07, 2023 14:24 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
S Jaishankar discusses bilateral ties, trade pact with Canadian counterpart Melanie Joly | Mallikarjun Kharge, Rahul Gandhi express grief over deaths due to earthquake in Turkey, Syria | At least 2,300 killed as 3 powerful earthquakes hit Turkey, Syria | PM Narendra Modi to inaugurate India Energy Week 2023 tomorrow | Assam: G20 delegates visits Kaziranga National Park
Assam records 67 pct voters turnout in first phase LS polling

Assam records 67 pct voters turnout in first phase LS polling

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Apr 2019, 02:12 pm

Guwahati, Apr 11 (UNI): More than 67 percent voters exercised their right to franchise in five Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam that went to the polls in the first phase on Thursday.

Polling concluded peacefully, without any major law and order situation reported from any part, ECI source said here.

As per the source, Tezpur recorded 70 per cent polling, Kaliabor 64 per cent, Jorhat 72 per cent, Dibrugarh 69 per cent and Lakhimpur 62 per cent, putting the overall percentage at 67.4 till 5 PM.

Long queues remained at polling stations even after the official close of voting time at 1700 hours and the final polling figure is likely to increase.

Reports of malfunctioning of EVMs were received from some polling stations, the source said.

While in most cases polling continued after the machine was replaced, repolling will be ordered in a few polling stations.

The fate of 41 candidates, including two women, were sealed in the EVMs with voters queuing up in front of most of the polling stations even before voting started at 7 AM, with clear weather encouraging voter turnout.

The fate of three sitting members of Parliament, Gaurav Gogoi of Congress (Kalibaor), Rameswar Teli of BJP (Dibrugarh) and Pradan Boruah of BJP (Lakhimpur) was sealed in the EVMs.

Former Union Minister Pawan Singh Ghatowar of Congress is also in the poll battle on Thursday, with other prominent contestants in the first phase being state ministers Pallab Lochan Das and Topon Kumar Gogoi (both BJP) in Tezpur and Jorhat respectively, retired IAS MGVK Bhanu (Cong) in Tezpur, Monimadhab Mahanta(AGP) in Kaliabor, and Sushanta Borgohain (Cong) in Jorhat.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and former CM Tarun Gogoi were among the voters who participated in the polling process in the first phase.

Polling was conducted at 9574 polling stations, which included 201 all-women polling stations and 225 model polling stations.

Altogether 180 companies of security forces were deployed, and at least one constable was attached to every polling station.

As many as 42126 polling personnel were engaged for first phase poll and 614 micro observers appointed.

A total of 151 flying squads kept vigil, along with 137 static surveillance teams and 118 video surveillance teams.

The BJP had won four of the seats in 2014 General Elections, while one was bagged by Congress.

Polling for five more seats in the state will take place in the second phase on April 18 and for remaining four seats on April 23.

Counting of votes will be undertaken on May 23.