February 08, 2023 02:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bilkis Bano case: Supreme Court agrees to constitute special bench for hearing | Supreme Court rejects Rana Ayyub's plea | Opposition wants Parliament to function: Congress | Supreme Court refuses to stay swearing-in of advocate Lekshmana Chandra Victoria Gowri | Bilkis Bano case: Supreme Court agrees to constitute special bench for hearing

Nitesh Madan upsets Aditya Mehta

India Blooms News Service | | 03 Jan 2016, 11:00 pm
Kolkata, Jan 3 (IBNS) : Nitesh Madan of Railways Sports Promotion Board handed a shock defeat to Aditya Mehta, India’s only professional Snooker player in the main draw of National 6-Red Snooker Championship to win the game 4-3 at the Bengal Rowing Club on Sunday.

The game started with Aditya Mehta winning the first frame quite comfortably with score reading 57-08 but thereafter completely lost his concentration as Nitesh clinched the next 3 frames with scores of 42-23,34-33,69-00.

Down by 3 frames to 1,Aditya came back strongly and won the next two frames by 44-35,34-00.With both the players winning 3 frames each, it was left to the decider, but Mehta lost his rhythm completely as the 23-year old Nitesh won the last frame comfortably by 47-0.

"It has been five years since I started playing the game and arguably this is my biggest and the best win of my career till date", Nitesh said after the match.

Earlier in the day, Aditya Mehta defeated A.Selva comfortably by 4-0.

Meanwhile, Sourav Kothari of PSPB won both of his games of the day against Benay Agarwal and Akram Khan (both WB) respectively. Brijesh Damani also had a good outing as he defeated Mohit Pal 4-1.

The women's qualifiers will start tomorrow and will see Vidya Pillai who is currently 3rd ranked in world Snooker rankings. The tournament will also see the likes of Amee Kamani, Bronze medalist in 2015 World Ladies Snooker along with Neena Pravin, Meenal Thakur, Arantxa Sanchis, Suniti Damani, Neeta Kothari and Doyel Dey.