March 30, 2023 17:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Indore: 4 die in temple stepwell collapse incident, 19 rescued | Mamata calls DA protesters 'thieves', says they received jobs 'unethically' during Left era | Lalit Modi threatens to sue Rahul Gandhi in UK court | US: Two army helicopters crash during training in Kentucky | Pakistan: Four killed, six injured in attacks on police in Lakki Marwat
68th National Film Awards: Suriya, Ajay Devgn share Best Actor honour National Awards

68th National Film Awards: Suriya, Ajay Devgn share Best Actor honour

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 22 Jul 2022, 07:43 pm

New Delhi/IBNS/UNI: Popular South star Suriya and Bollywood actor Ajay Devgn shared the Best Actor award as the 68th National Film Awards for 2020 were announced on Friday after a long hiatus.

While Suriya bagged the award for Tamil movie 'Soorarai Pottru', Ajay Devgn won the same for the Hindi feature film 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'.

In a statement, Devgn said, ‘’I am elated to win the Best Actor Award for ‘Tanhaji—The Unsung Warrior’ at the 68th National Awards along with Suriya who won for "Soorarai Pottru".

"I thank everyone, most of all my creative team, the audience and my fans. I also express my gratitude to my parents & the Almighty for their blessings. Congratulations to all the other winners.’’

Manoj Muntashir won the award for Best Lyrics for the Hindi movie 'Saina', starring Parineeti Chopra.

The Best Actress award was bagged by Aparrna Balamurali for 'Soorarai Pottru' and the Best Feature Film also went to the Tamil masterpiece directed by Sudha Kongara.

‘Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior’ grabbed the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment.

Devgn, who is the producer of the ‘Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior', shared: "As the producer of 'Tanhaji...', it gives me immense joy to receive an honour at the 68th National Film Awards for the Best film that has provided wholesome entertainment.

“Tanhaji was exactly that. It is a good story of friendship, loyalty, family values and sacrifice. It has strong national sentiments, super VFX and a holistic approach in entertainment.

""I must share the honour with my director Om Raut, my co-producers, T-Series and my co-actors. Most of all, I thank my creative team who has contributed handsomely to making this a blockbuster and now a National Award winner," he added.

Madhya Pradesh won the ‘Most Film Friendly State’ award while Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh got Special Mention.

'The Longest Kiss' by Kishwar Desai won ‘Best Book on Cinema’ for the year, while Malayalam book ‘MT Anunahvangalude Pusthakam’ and Odia book ‘Kali Paine Kalira Cinema’ got a special mention.

The ‘Best Non-Feature Film’ was won by ‘Testimony of Ana’.

In the non-feature category: Best Narration/Voice Over went to Shobha Tharoor Sreenivasan for Rahpsody of Rains - Monsoons of Kerala (English); Best Music Direction went to ace filmmaker Vishal Bhardwaj for 1232 kms: Marenge to Wanhi Jaakar (Hindi);

Best Editing in the non-feature category went to Anadi Athaley for Borderlands in Bengali, Nepali, Manipuri, Hindi and Punjabi. Best Direction to RV Ramani for 'Oh That's Bhanu'.

Best Short Fiction went to Karbi's film 'The Boy with a Gun' (Kachchinithu).

DMRC produced 'Surmounting Challenges' bagged the Best promotional film.

Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur congratulated all the winners and said, “2020 was a particularly difficult year for films due to the Covid pandemic, yet the nominations consisted of great works.”

The Minister also thanked the Jury for diligently going through the entries and selecting the best for the awards.

The Jury comprised eminent filmmakers and film personalities from across the Indian cine world.

The awards were announced by Chitrartha Singh, Chairperson, Non-Feature Jury, Anant Vijay, Chairperson, Best Writing on Cinema Jury and Dharam Gulati, Feature Film Jury (Member – Central Panel).

Neerja Sekhar, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting was also present on the occasion.

The National Film Awards will be handed out in a ceremony later this year.

Here's the full list of winners:


Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru

Best Direction: Sachy, Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali, Soorarai Pottru

Best Actor: Suriya, Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli, Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon, AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Marathi Film: Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Kannada Film: Dollu

Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Assamese Film: Bridge

Special Mention: Vaanku (Malayalam), June (Marathi), Avwanchhit (Marathi), Godakaath (Marathi),Toolsidas Junior (Hindi)

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Haryanvi Film: Dada Lakhmi

Best Diimasa Film: Semkhor

Best Action Direction: AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Choreography: Natyam (Telugu)

Best Lyrics: Saina

Best Music Direction: Ala Vaikunthapurramulo (Songs): Thaman S

(Background Score): Soorarai Pottru

Best Make-Up: Natyam

Best Production Design: Kappela

Best Editing: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

Best Audiography: Dollu

Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru

Best Dialogue Writer: Mandela

Best Cinematography: Avijatrik (The Wanderlust of Apu)

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma, AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande, Mi Vasantrao

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Manah Aru Manuh (Assam)

Most Film-Friendly State: Madhya Pradesh


Best Narration: Rhapsody of Rains - Monsoons of Kerala

Best Editing: Borderlands

Best Audiography: Dollu

Best On-Location Sound Recordist: Magical Forest

Best Cinematography: Shabdikkunna Kalappa

Best Direction: Oh That's Bhanu

Best Film on Family Values: Kumkumarchan

Best Short Fiction Film: Kachichinithu

Special Jury Award: Admitted

Best Investigative Film: The Saviour: Brig. Pritam Singh

Best Exploration Film: Wheeling the Ball

Best Education Film: Dreaming of Words

Best Film on Social Issues: Justice Delayed but Delivered

Best Environment Film: Manah Aru Manuh

Best Promotional Film: Surmounting Challenges

Best Art and Culture Film: Naadada Navaneeta DR PT Venkateshkumar

Best Biographical Film: Pabung Syam

Best Ethnographic Film: Mandal ke Bol

Best Non-Feature Film: Testimony of Ana

Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Pariah

Best Book on Cinema: The Longest Kiss, by Kishwar Desai