May 25, 2024 02:01 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bangladeshi MP Anwarul Azim was honey-trapped; killers were paid Rs. 5 cr for his gory murder: Cops | NIA arrests another key conspirator in Bengaluru Rameshwaram Cafe blast case | Delhi court convicts Medha Patkar in criminal defamation case filed by Delhi LG VK Saxena | 2 cops suspended for 'not following protocol' in Pune Porsche accident case | Sadhus hit Kolkata streets in protest against Mamata Banerjee's attack on Kartik Maharaj
No trust vote today in Karnataka Assembly

No trust vote today in Karnataka Assembly

| @indiablooms | 18 Jul 2019, 02:25 pm

Bengaluru, Jul 18 (IBNS): The impasse in Karnataka politics seems to take no halt with the Speaker calling it a day in the Assembly, which means there will be no trust vote on Thursday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) although insisted on a trust vote on Thursday evening itself and even approached the Governor, who also requested the Speaker to consider a vote by the end of the day.

BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa said that they can even wait till midnight for the trust vote.

The BJP has decided that its lawmakers will spend the night in the assembly to protest against the decision.

Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar will now decide when to hold the trust vote.

According to reports, had the vote being held on Thursday, the Congress-Janata Dal-Secular coalition government would have lost the same.

After the Governor's advice, the speaker has sought legal advice.

Earlier, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy Yeddyurappa in the Vidhan Soudha saying the opposition leader, who wanted the trust vote process to be completed quickly, was in hurry.

The ruling alliance of the Congress-JD(S) is on the edge after 16 coalition MLAs resigned in the last two weeks.

The CM accused the BJP of trying to destabilize his government. He said: “I have self respect and so do my ministers. How can I live with this and not discuss this? I have to make clarifications. Who is responsible for destabilising this government?”

The Congress and JD(S) leaders, in their bid to win back the rebel MLAs had so far succeeded in pursuing Ramalinga Reddy, and anxiously looking back to see that four of the rebel MLAs, who are very close to Reddy would also follow suit. Reddy is present in the Assembly.

The lone member belonging to the BSP, who had sought a separate seat in the Assembly, Mahesh, is yet to take any decision whether to support the government or remain neutral.

"I am waiting for directions from our party supremo Mayawati," the BSP member had said earlier.

Two Independent MLAs, who are also ministers in the Kumaraswamy government had also rebelled and extended their support to the BJP.

Yeddyurappa, has held a series of meeting with his party MLAs, stayed at a resort and worked out strategies to defeat the confidence motion in the House.

The BJP has also secured the support of two Independent MLAs. Consequently, it appears that the saffron party is all set to form the government if confidence motion is defeated.


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.