May 29, 2024 14:42 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
TMC transferring SC, ST, OBC reservations to Muslims: PM Modi in Bengal | Mani Shankar Aiyar's '1962 Chinese invasion' comment sparks row, Congress distances itself after BJP ire | Supreme Court refuses to hear Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea seeking interim bail extension | Amit Shah predicts BJP's Lok Sabha seats in East and South ahead of final phase of voting | Rajkot fire: Gaming zone co-owner among those killed, police confirms today
Amit Shah to join Modi 2.0 cabinet. Will BJP get new president?

Amit Shah to join Modi 2.0 cabinet. Will BJP get new president?

| @indiablooms | 30 May 2019, 11:52 am

New Delhi, May 30 (IBNS): With  reports now almost confirming that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah will join in the cabinet of the second Narendra Modi government, questions are raising as to who will now lead the saffron camp in the country.

Shah, who won from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency with a margin close to five lakh votes, took the charge of the party in 2014.

BJP Gujarat president Jitu Vaghani's tweet congratulating Shah almost confirm the news of his joining the cabinet.

Under Shah, the BJP managed to spread its presence across the nation with landmark wins even in the north eastern states including Tripura which was a Left bastion. The BJP has also made a deep inroad in West Bengal, which was once a Left bastion and now a Trinamool Congress stronghold, by winning 18 Lok Sabha seats this year.

Shah also called a number of MPs asking them to arrive at the Prime Minister's residence this evening.

Among those who received the call are Piyush Goyal, who many speculate could be the next finance minister after Arun Jaitley formally requested Modi that he be kept out of the cabinet because of health reasons. Sushma Swaraj will also be in the cabinet. So will be "giant-slayer" Smriti Irani, who snatched away Amethi from Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Nirmala Sitharaman is also being retained.

Meanwhile, reports said former foreign secretary S Jaishankar will join PM Narendra Modi's government.

From Bengal, Asansol's two-time MP Babul Supriyo and Raiganj MP Deboshree Chowdhury got the calls.

Ravi Shankar Prasad, who beat Shatrughan Sinha from the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha constituency, also got Shah's call. So did Nitin Gadkari, Sadananda Gowda, Arjun Meghwal, Kiren Rijiju, Prakash Javadekar, Ramdas Athavale, Jitender Singh, Suresh Angadi Kailash Chowdhury, Prahlad Joshi and G Kishan Reddy, reports said.

The BJP is giving all its allies one portfolio each, media reports said.

Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister at the Rashtrapati Bhavan at 7 pm.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.