March 27, 2023 13:04 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Karnataka scraps 4 pct quota for OBC Muslims, now divided between two categories | Congress calls for 'systematic opposition unity' after Rahul Gandhi's disqualification | 'Centre so scared': Arvind Kejriwal on Rahul Gandhi's disqualification from Lok Sabha | 'Fighting for India's voice, ready to pay any price': Rahul Gandhi on disqualification from Lok Sabha | Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha after court conviction over Modi surname remark
Narendra Modi thanks Russian President Vladimir Putin after he was awarded Order of St Andrew

Narendra Modi thanks Russian President Vladimir Putin after he was awarded Order of St Andrew

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 12 Apr 2019, 12:01 pm

New Delhi, Apr 12 (IBNS): Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday thanked Russian president Vladimir Putin after the country awarded him with Order of St Andrew.

It is the highest state honour of Russia.

"Vladimir Putin signed the Executive Order On Awarding Prime Minister of India Narendra Damodardas Modi the Order of St Andrew the Apostle the First-Called," read a statement issued by the President of Russia's website.

Meanwhile, Modi thanked Putin and tweeted: "Honoured to receive this prestigious award. I thank President Putin and the people of Russia. Foundations of India-Russia friendship are deep & the future of our partnership is bright.Extensive cooperation between our nations has led to extraordinary outcomes for our citizens."

He said: "President Putin remains a source of great strength for the India-Russia friendship. Under his visionary leadership, bilateral and multilateral cooperation between our nations has scaled new heights."

United Arab Emirates (UAE) recently awarded Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi with its highest civilian award - Zayed Medal.

Modi has been awarded the special honour by the Russian government at a time when the country is hosting its general polls.

The first phase of the seven-phased elections was held on Thursday.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23.