One killed, six injured as wall collapses in Himachal Pradesh | India witnessing historic transformations, eliminating poverty faster: Modi in Bhutan | Karnataka govt decides for CBI probe into phone tapping scandal Bengaluru, Aug 18 (UNI) Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa has decided to order for a CBI probe into the alleged phone tapping scandal of various opposition leaders and the senior officials, carr | Kolkata: Two Bangladeshis killed as speeding Jaguar rams into them | Cricketer Ravindra Jadeja nominated for Arjuna Award |
Pakistan's World Cup squad meets PM Imran Khan

PCB Twitter page

Pakistan's World Cup squad meets PM Imran Khan

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 19 Apr 2019, 04:19 pm

Islamabad, Apr 19 (IBNS): Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed and his 15 member team for the World Cup met country's cricket icon and Prime Minister Imran Khan on Friday.

Ahmed also presented an autographed team shirt to the PM.

The Pakistan Cricket Board shared images of the meeting on Twitter.

It captioned the images as: " Captain @SarfarazA_54 presenting an autographed team shirt to Prime Minister @ImranKhanPTI #WeHaveWeWill."

Imran and his connection with the World Cup:

Imran Khan, PTI chief, and the current PM of Pakistan has a strong association with the showpiece cricket tournament. In 1992, Imran Khan had led a young Pakistani cricket team to win the World Cup for the first time on Australia soil.

So far, it is Pakistan's only World Cup victory.

PCB selects 15-member team:

Pakistani left arm fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who had played a crucial role in country's Champion Trophy victory,  could not find a place in the 15 member squad selected for the World Cup.

Chief Selector Inzamamul Haq  announced Pakistan's 15-member team on Thursday.

Amir has been dropped due to his poor show on the field in the past two years. He has just picked up five wickets in 14 matches he played during this period.

Players retained from the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 winning party include Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan and Shoaib Malik.

Talking about his selections, Inzamam was quoted as saying by the PCB website: “While picking the side, we’ve tried to cover all bases by assessing our strengths as well as analysing each opponent, the match venues and the event format."

The selectors have named Asif Ali and Mohammad Amir as additional two members in the 17-member squad for the England series.

Pakistan squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, captain)
Abid Ali
Babar Azam
Faheem Ashraf
Fakhar Zaman
Haris Sohail
Hasan Ali
Imad Wasim
Junaid Khan
Mohammad Hafeez
Mohammad Hasnain
Shadab Khan
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shoaib Malik

Additional players for England T20I and ODIs:

Asif Ali
Mohammad Amir

Pakistan's World Cup squad meets PM Imran Khan

India Blooms News Service
Comments ()

Post your comment:

Web Analytics