March 05, 2024 08:58 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
France becomes first country to make abortion a constitutional right | PM Modi meets actress Vyjayanthimala in Chennai | Supreme Court asks AAP to vacate headquarters in land encroachment case | PM means 'elder brother,' Telangana CM Revanth Reddy says amid BJP's 'Modi ka Parivar' campaign | SBI urges Supreme Court to extend deadline for providing electoral bonds info
Actor Dhritiman Chatterjee to receive Lifetime Achievement Award from West Bengal Film Journalists Association WBFJA
Image Credit: IBNS File

Actor Dhritiman Chatterjee to receive Lifetime Achievement Award from West Bengal Film Journalists Association

Souvik Ghosh/IBNS | @indiablooms | 27 Dec 2022, 09:46 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Veteran actor Dhritiman Chatterjee, who has featured in multiple films of legendary filmmaker Satyajit Ray, will be conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award by the West Bengal Film Journalists Association (WBFJA) Awards in 2023.

The announcement was made by WBFJA secretary Nirmal Dhar on Tuesday.

"We have unanimously agreed to confer the Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award to Dhritiman Chattopadhyay. Not just in Satyajit Ray's films, he has worked in Hindi, Malayalam as well as Sri Lankan films," said Dhar.

"He will come from Goa to receive the award," he added.

The nominations in various categories were also announced on Tuesday.

The nominations were selected from 111 Bengali films, which were released in 2022.

Filmmaker Kaushik Ganguly, who was present during the announcement, told India Blooms, "The WBFJA has a long tradition. When senior journalists organise the awards ceremony through debates and discussions every year, it assumes significance very naturally."

In a significant shift in the nominations, eight filmmakers have been chosen contrary to customary four or five for the 'Most Promising Director' category.

The eight filmmakers are Anirban Bhattacharya for Ballabhpurer Roopkotha, Prasun Chatterjee for Dostojee, Ishaan Ghose for Jhilli, Srimanta Sengupta for Abar Bochhor Koori Pore, Sayantan Mukherjee for Jhor Palok, Rahool Mukherjee for Kishmish, Rajdeep Paul and Sarmistha Maiti for Kalkokkho and Avijit Sen for Projapati.

Speaking on the WBFJA, actor Paoli Dam, who is also in the nomination list for 'Best Supporting Actor Female' courtesy Byomkesh Hotyamancha, shares with India Blooms, "Celebration of films and acknowledgement of deserving works are always good."

"Awards always encourage artists," she added.

The award ceremony will be held at the age-old Gem Cinema at Entally in Kolkata on Jan 8, 2023. 

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.