May 19, 2024 19:40 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home
Israel's 'Children of Nobody' wins best film award at 29th KIFF KIFF
Photo courtesy: Screenshot grab from trailer

Israel's 'Children of Nobody' wins best film award at 29th KIFF

Souvik Ghosh/IBNS | @indiablooms | 13 Dec 2023, 12:49 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Israeli film 'Children of Nobody' has bagged the best film award at the 29th Kolkata International Film Festival (KIFF), which ended on Tuesday.

The film, which is directed by Erez Tadmor, received Rs. 51 lakh along with the award for the win in 'Innovation in Moving Images' category.

'Children of Nobody' is a story about distressed boys who are living in the fringes of Israel who were either expelled from or fled their homes. A house in a Tel Aviv neighbourhood gives them shelter and hope for new life.

Image by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImage by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

In the same category, Carlos Daniel Malave was awarded the best director's award for Venezuela film 'One Way'.

Actor-director Anjan Dutt's 'Chalchitra Ekhon', which was based on Dutt's experience with filmmaking legend Mrinal Sen, won the special jury award for International Competition on 'Innovation in Moving Images'.

Over the span of eight days, around 240 films were screened across 23 venues in this edition of KIFF, which was inaugurated by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee along with Bollywood top stars Salman Khan, Anil Kapoor, Mahesh Bhatt, Shatrughan Sinha, Sonakshi Sinha on December 5.

The closing ceremony, which was held at Rabindra Sadan on Tuesday, was graced by Indian actress Aditi Rao Hydari.

Image by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImage by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

Speaking at the closing ceremony, Aditi says, "It's a real honour to be here today at the closing ceremony of Kolkata International Film Festival. This is the land that has celebrated art, artistry, artistes, cinema for decades.

"I am one of those people who looked up to the cinema and artists and artistry here. It's almost surreal for me to be here today."

Other winners

Best Indian Documentary Film: Challenge (Director: Ramen Borah and Sibanu Borah)

Best Indian Short Film: Last Rehearsal (Director: Kamil Saif)

NETPAC Award for Best Film: Broken Dream Stories from the Myanmar Coup (Country: Myanmar; Director: Ninefold Mosaic)

Special Jury Award for Best Bengali Panorama Film: Asampurno (Director: Amartya Sinha)

Best Bengali Panorama Film: Mon Potongo (Director: Rajdeep Paul and Sarmistha Maiti)

Special Jury Award for Indian Language Films: Josephs Son (Director: Haobam Paban Kumar)

Best Director in Indian Language Films: Shonet Anthony Barretto (Film: Avni Ki Kismat)

Best Film in Indian Language: Gorai Phakhri (Director: Rajni Basumatary)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.