August 15, 2022 12:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
India registers 14,092 new Covid-19 cases in last 24 hours | BJP takes dig at Jawaharlal Nehru in video on partition, Congress hits back | Salman Rushdie off ventilator, attacker Hadi Matar pleads 'not guilty' | Investor Rakesh Jhunjhunwala passes away at 62 | Sourav Ganguly to lead Indian team in 75th Independence special match. Know more
68 winners avoid National Film Awards ceremony as Prez felicitates 11 recipients only

68 winners avoid National Film Awards ceremony as Prez felicitates 11 recipients only

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 May 2018, 08:37 pm

Mumbai, May 3 (IBNS): A severe controversy broke over the National Film Awards as more than 68 winners boycotted the ceremony on Friday with President Ram Nath Kovind felicitating only 11 winners out of the total 137 recipients, media reports said.

The 65th National Film Awards ceremony was held at the Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi on Thursday.

Over 60 awardees wrote an open letter to the President expressing their disappointment after it was announced that Kovind would not present all the awards.

Reacting to this, President’s press secretary, Ashok Malik, stated: “President attends all award functions and convocations for a maximum of one hour. This has been the protocol since he took office. It was conveyed to Information and Broadcasting Ministry several weeks ago and the ministry knew this all along. Rashtrapati Bhavan is surprised by the 11th hour questions that have been raised.”

Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani and Minister of State Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore conferred rest of the awardes.

Several celebrities took it to Twitter to express their dissent.

Producer Manish Mundra, whose film Newton has won the National Award for best Hindi film, wrote:

Oscar-winning sound artiste Resul Pookutty tweeted:

Filmmaker Rahul Dholakia, who had previously won National Award for his film Parzania, wrote:

This year, departed star Sridevi was adjudged best actress for her film Mom while Newton was declared best Hindi film.

Assamese film, Village Rockstars was adjudged the best film.

The award for best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment  went to Baahubali 2 (Telugu).  Bahubali 2 also got the award for special effects. Special jury award goes to Bengali film Nagarkirtan

The awards for best Playback Singer under female and male categories went respectively  to  Sasha Trupati (Vaan) and  Yesudas.

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film for National Integration went to Marathi film, Dhappa, while the best original screenplay  isThondimuthalum Driksakshiyum.

Best Adapted Screenplay award goes to Malayalam film, Bhayanakam. The same film won Best Cinematography as well.

The honour for best supporting actor went to Fahad Fazil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum while Divya Dutta is the best supporting actress.

Riddhi Sen was declared best actor for his portrayal in the film.

Pankaj Tripathi got a special mention for Newton at National Film Awards. In the same category, Marathi Film, Morkhya; Oriya Film, HelloRC and Malayalam actor Parvathy, forTake Off were also awarded.

Headed by Shekhar Kapoor, a 10-member jury panel decided the awardees.

The members of the panel, among others, are screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, actress Gautami Tadimalla, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey.

Chairman of the jury of national film awards Shekhar Kapoor said he is surprised by the Standard of regional cinema in India.