June 20, 2024 09:10 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sending shockwaves, man kills girlfriend in full public view with a spanner in Mumbai | 'It will be you versus me in Maharashtra polls': Uddhav Thackeray challenges PM Modi | With Modi's re-election, Justin Trudeau wants to engage on some 'very serious issues' | Fire breaks out at iconic Hollong Bungalow in Bengal's Jalpaiguri | Portion of under-construction bridge collapses in Bihar's Araria
BJP picks four-time MLA and tribal leader Mohan Charan Manjhi to be Odisha's chief minister
In image Mohan Charan Manjhi being selected as Odisha CM/ courtesy: BhupendraYadav X

BJP picks four-time MLA and tribal leader Mohan Charan Manjhi to be Odisha's chief minister

| @indiablooms | 11 Jun 2024, 08:46 pm

Bhubaneshwar/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has picked a relatively unknown face, a four-time MLA and the party's tribal leader Mohan Charan Manjhi, as the new Chief Minister of Odisha.

Senior state leaders Dharmendra Pradhan and Jual Oram have been inducted into the Union government. The party has also picked two Deputies for Manjhi- KV Singh Deo and Pravati Parida.

The oath ceremony will be held on Wednesday and will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

PM Modi is expected to hold a roadshow in Bhubaneswar on his way to the venue of the ceremony, the Janata Maidan.

Majhi, 52, a four-time MLA from Keonjhar, is an experienced politician, and his public service, as well as organisational skills, worked in his favour in the race for the top post.

As the chief whip of the BJP in the previous assembly, he was the youngest of the frontrunners.

Meanwhile, KV Singh Deo is a six-time MLA and an erstwhile royal from Patna (princely state), Bolangir. He was a minister in the Naveen Patnaik government for nine years till 2009 when the BJP and the Biju Janata Dal were in alliance.

Pravati Parida, 57, a first-time MLA, has been in the party for the last 28 years. She was chief of the state BJP women's wing (2016-2022) and the state BJP Vice President (2022-2024).

The BJP is forming a government in the coastal state for the first time after 24 years of Naveen Patnaik's rule. The state has reposed faith in the BJP, giving the party 78 of the 147 assembly seats. Naveen Patnaik's BJD won 51 seats. 

The BJP legislature party picked the names this evening under the eyes of Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupendra Yadav, who were sent as observers by the Central leadership.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.