June 15, 2024 03:22 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi LG approves prosecution of Arundhati Roy, Sheikh Showkat Hussain in 2010 provocative speech case | BS Yediyurappa, accused of harassing minor, can't be arrested till next hearing: Karnataka HC | PM Modi meets Meloni, Macron, Zelenskyy and Pope as part of mega outreach program in Italy | NEET-UG 2024: Supreme Court issues notice to Centre, NTA on pleas seeking CBI probe into paper leak | BJP worshipped Lord Ram but stopped at 241 due to arrogance, says RSS leader days after Mohan Bhagwat's veiled attack on Modi's party
Lok Sabha elections 2024 concludes, exit polls predict Modi's return for 3rd term
Elections '24

Lok Sabha elections 2024 concludes, exit polls predict Modi's return for 3rd term

| @indiablooms | 01 Jun 2024, 10:14 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: The high-pitched and long-drawn Lok Sabha Elections 2024 concluded on Saturday, with all eyes on June 4 when the results will be declared.

58.3% of total votes were polled till 5 pm in the seventh and final phase of the national elections, which began on April 19.

In the ultimate phase, several heavyweights like Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi, Ravi Kishan in Gorakhpur, Kangana Ranaut in Uttarakhand's Mandi, TMC national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee went to polls.

The campaigning for the last phase concluded on Thursday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi began an almost 48-hour meditation at Vivekananda Rock Memorial in Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu.

The Prime Minister is meditating at the Dhyan Mandapam, the same spot where the Hindu philosopher-saint Swami Vivekananda had meditated in 1892 to get a clear vision of the future of India.

On the polling day, sporadic incidents of violence occurred with supporters of AAP and Congress clashed in two booths of Tagore Memorial School on Saturday.

In West Bengal, infamous for political clashes, 10 people were injured as TMC and ISF workers clashed in Bhangar, which falls in the Jadavpur constituency.

Seven people were arrested in connection with the incident.

CPI-M candidate from Diamond Harbour chased down an alleged fake polling agent from a booth, leading to commotion.

As the elections concluded, Prime Minister Modi thanked his party workers as well as the Election Commission of India besides taking a dig at the anti-BJP front, INDIA.

Modi posted on X, "Heartfelt gratitude to our outstanding security forces for their unwavering vigilance during the entire elections. Their efforts have ensured a safe and secure environment, enabling people to take part in the polling process with ease. Their service to the nation is deeply appreciated by each one of us."

"I would like to commend the @ECISVEEP for their exemplary efforts in ensuring a smooth and fair electoral process. Their dedication and meticulous planning have been crucial in upholding the integrity of our democracy, allowing citizens across the nation to vote with confidence and security. Our electoral process is something every believer in democratic values takes inspiration from."

"I would like to applaud each and every NDA Karyakarta. Across the length and breadth of India, often braving intense heat. I compliment them for meticulously explaining our development agenda to the people and motivating them to come out and vote. Our Karyakartas are our greatest strength."

He added, "I can say with confidence that the people of India have voted in record numbers to reelect the NDA government. They have seen our track record and the manner in which our work has brought about a qualitative change in the lives of the poor, marginalised and downtrodden.

"At the same time, they have seen how the reforms in India have propelled India to being the fifth largest global economy. Every scheme of ours has reached the intended beneficiaries without any bias or leakage."

The Election Commission of India has put up an X post which reads, "Thank you, voters! Your participation has made the 7th phase of the Lok Sabha elections a grand success."

INDIA claims to win 295 seats

While Modi seems confident to return for his third consecutive term, a feat achieved only by India's first Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, INDIA alliance claims to win at least 295 seats.

After an all-party meeting in Delhi, Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge claimed INDIA is winning 295 seats, which would ensure Modi's exit from power.

Exit polls predict Modi's thumping win

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to return for a record-equalling third term in office with the BJP-led NDA alliance set to get a thumping majority defeating the combined opposition's INDIA Bloc, according to the exit poll results after the seventh and final phase of polling in the country on Saturday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) can garner around 350 or more seats while the  INDIA bloc led by the united opposition is likely to get 125 to 150 seats, the exit polls indicate.

Amid a slogan to win over 400 seats in the 543-member Parliament, the exit polls give a massive mandate for a third Modi term.

According to the Republic-PMARQ poll, NDA will win 359 seats and INDIA bloc around 154 followed by 30 by others, while Republic-Matrize poll projects upto 368 seats for the saffron bloc.

Matrize project said the NDA is likely to get 353-368 seats while the INDIA bloc will get 118-133 seats. Others will get 43-48 seats.

Exit poll by India News-D-Dynamics projected 371 seats for the Modi-led BJP and NDA alliance.

NDTV India-Jan Ki Baat has suggested 362-392 seats for the BJP-led NDA and between 141 and 161 seats for the INDIA bloc.

The BJP is likely to gain seats in the south and in the east of India in states like West Bengal, Odisha, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh besides opening account in a state like Tamil Nadu where exit polls say it can win between one and seven seats.

The poll by Jan Ki Baat has predicted between 21 and 26 seats for the BJP in West Bengal against  16-18 by the Trinamool Congress led by a fiesty Mamata Banerjee. The BJP is projected to win in 9-12 seats in Odisha of its total 21 seats.

The NDA can get upto 21 seats in Karnataka out of 28 seats, according to exit polls by Republic TV.

Overall, all the pollsters predicted a return of the Narendra Modi-led NDA government, winning over 350 seats.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.