May 29, 2024 23:27 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'We are not in permanent marriage': Arvind Kejriwal on tie-up with Congress, predicts a 300-seat win for INDIA bloc | Pune Porsche accident: Hospital dean alleges political interference by legislator | TMC transferring SC, ST, OBC reservations to Muslims: PM Modi in Bengal | Mani Shankar Aiyar's '1962 Chinese invasion' comment sparks row, Congress distances itself after BJP ire | Supreme Court refuses to hear Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea seeking interim bail extension
Haryana crisis: Congress submits memorandum to Governor demanding dismissal of BJP's 'minority' government
In image Haryana CM Nayab Saini/ courtesy: Facebook

Haryana crisis: Congress submits memorandum to Governor demanding dismissal of BJP's 'minority' government

| @indiablooms | 11 May 2024, 08:59 am

The Congress in Haryana has submitted a memorandum to the Governor and demanded the dismissal of the 'minority' BJP government which lost its majority after three independent MLAs withdrew their support.

According to reports,  Senior Congress leader and party chief whip BB Batra, accompanied by Deputy CLP leader Aftab Ahmed, submitted the memorandum to Governor Bandaru Dattatreya.

Batra was quoted as saying by The Indian Express that they handed over the memorandum to the Governor’s secretary as Dattatreya “had left for Telangana for some work.”

Asked if Congress will move the court, Batra said, “Governor is the constitutional head, let him first take a decision in the matter.”

In a major setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party-led Haryana government during the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections, three Independent MLAs Tuesday announced their withdrawal of support from the ruling party in the state.

The three Independent MLAs to have withdrawn support include Sombir Sangwan, Randhir Gollen, and Dharampal Gonder.

The development came amid the Lok Sabha polls and within two months of Nayab Singh Saini taking over as Chief Minister of Haryana replacing Manohar Lal Khattar.

The 90-member Haryana Assembly comprises 41 BJP MLAs and seven independents.

The BJP government earlier had the support of Jannayak Janta Party MLAs and Independents, but as per reports, the JJP had also withdrawn support.

The Independent MLAs after switching their loyalties demanded immediate assembly elections in the state.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.