May 29, 2024 05:48 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Rajkot fire: Gaming zone co-owner among those killed, police confirms today | Eyeing more seats in Bengal, PM Modi holds mega roadshow in north Kolkata | 'I am not against minorities but won't divide the country based on religion': PM Modi | Delhi LG VK Saxena takes swipe at Kejriwal over children's hospital fire, orders anti-corruption probe | Punjab minister Balkar Singh's obscene video surfaces, BJP calls AAP 'Anti Aurat Party'
Navneet Kumar Sehgal appointed as new Prasar Bharati chairman

Navneet Kumar Sehgal appointed as new Prasar Bharati chairman

| @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2024, 11:08 pm

New Delhi: Retired IAS officer Navneet Kumar Sehgal has assumed the role of the new Prasar Bharati chairman, which had been vacant for four years.

He replaces A Surya Prakash, who reached the age limit of 70, ending his term in February 2020.

Sehgal joined his duties as the Prasar Bharati Chairman on Saturday.

"...the President, on the recommendation of the Selection Committee, is pleased to appoint Shri Navneet Kumar Sehgal, IAS (retd) as the Chairman of the Prasar Bharati Board with effect from the date of his assuming charge of the post for a term of three years or until he attains the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier," an order dated March 15, issued by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, said.

Sehgal, a 1988-batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre, retired last year.

Throughout his career, he has undertaken key roles in the Uttar Pradesh government and retired as the additional chief secretary for sports and youth welfare.

On Friday, Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar presided over a meeting to decide on the appointment of the chairman of the public broadcaster.

As the chairman of the Rajya Sabha, the vice president leads the selection committee for the position of the Prasar Bharati chief.

The committee comprises the chairperson of the Press Council of India (PCI) and a nominee of the president, forming a three-member panel.

Present at the meeting were PCI Chairperson Justice (retired) Ranjana Desai and Information and Broadcasting Secretary Sanjay Jaju.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.