February 05, 2023 16:10 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Hockey Men's World Cup 2023: India beat Japan 8-0 in classification match | Amid row, Kerala Congress screens controversial BBC documentary on PM Modi in Thiruvananthapuram | Republic Day Parade to showcase India’s indigenous military prowess, cultural diversity | Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain conferred Padma Vibhushan award | Dilip Mahalanabis, who pioneered ORS use, to be awarded Padma Vibhushan
Nandigram case: Mamata Banerjee joins Calcutta HC hearing virtually Mamata v Suvendu
Image Credit: IBNS File

Nandigram case: Mamata Banerjee joins Calcutta HC hearing virtually

IBNS | @indiablooms | 24 Jun 2021, 12:46 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday virtually joined the Calcutta High Court hearing on the case pertaining to the result of Assembly Elections in Nandigram.

Banerjee has filed a petition seeking recuse of Justice Kaushik Chanda over "conflict of interest".

Justice Chanda, who was earlier associated with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), heard the case on Jun 18 and the hearing was adjourned to Thursday.

UPDATE: High Court concludes hearing, reserves order on Banerjee's recusal plea

Justice Chanda had shared stages with various BJP leaders in the past. 

Banerjee, who is represented by senior advocate Abhishek Manu Singhvi, wants the case to be heard by a different court.

After a close contest between the two heavyweights in the high profile Nandigram Assembly constituency, Banerjee lost to her confidante-turned opponent Suvendu Adhikari, who was a BJP candidate, by a margin of over 1,900 votes.

Banerjee had trailed Adhikari for 11 rounds but the trend changed in the next four, with margins ranging from six to 11,000. Adhikari gained in the final rounds and was declared winner.

The controversy erupted mainly after Banerjee was declared winner initially in media reports, but later, it was reported the counting was on and Adhikari was finally announced winner.