May 09, 2021 09:06 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Supreme Court sets up 12-member National Task Force to distribute oxygen | Bengal: BJP leader Mukul Roy rubbishes rumour of his return to TMC | States to get over 53 lakh Covid-19 vaccine doses in next 3 days: Health Ministry | BJP unable to accept people's mandate: Mamata Banerjee in Bengal assembly | India reports over 4-lakh new Covid-19 cases, more than 4,000 deaths in 24 hours
Breaking: Narendra Modi swears in as the Prime Minister of India for second term

Breaking: Narendra Modi swears in as the Prime Minister of India for second term

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 30 May 2019, 01:43 pm

New Delhi: A week after registering a landslide victory in the electoral battle, the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister of India for the second term in the presence of some 800 delegates from India and abroad.

Modi, who was appointed to the Prime Minister's Office by President Ram Nath Kovind on last Saturday, took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan at around 7 pm. President Kovind administered the oath as Modi became the 16th Prime Minister of India.

Along with Modi, his cabinet ministers also took oath. BJP president Amit Shah also took oath as a minister. Other senior BJP ministers included Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman and Nitin Gadkari.


According to reports, around 8,000 guests including world leaders, dignitaries, politicians, celebrities and industrialists are attending the occasion.

The swearing-in ceremony is being attended by Congress president Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi among others.

The NDA this time has a strength of 353 MPs in the 543-member Lok Sabha. The BJP alone has 303 MPs.