September 30, 2020 14:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Hathras incident: PM Modi asks Yogi Adityanth to take strictest action against accused | Hathras fatal gangrape case: Police do cremation in absence of family, relatives | 'Inhumane, beyond cruelly': Virat Kohli on Hathras fatal gangrape incident | Babri Masjid demolition verdict: All accused including LK Advani, MM Joshi, Uma Bharti acquitted | Babri Masjid demolition verdict: All accused acquitted
Lok Sabha Elections: Seven phase polling in India to start from Apr 11, results on May 23

Lok Sabha Elections: Seven phase polling in India to start from Apr 11, results on May 23

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 10 Mar 2019, 12:34 pm

New Delhi, Mar 10 (IBNS): In a seven phased Lok Sabha (lower house) polls, India will vote to choose the new Prime Minister of the country and a government with the first phase of voting starting from Apr 11, the Election Commission announced on Sunday.

The seventh phase of polling will be held on May 19.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Sunil Arora, Chief Election Commissioner, said, "Total electorate this time is 900 million."

"Approximately 10 lakh polling station thhis year," he said.

"NOTA option will be there," he said.

15 million voters are this time aged between 18 and 19, said Arora.

"The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into effect from today itself in the entire country. Any violation will be death strictly," he said.

"Elaborate arrangement has been made for peaceful conduct of elections," Arora said.

Arora said: "Efforts are made to make voting process comfortable, specially for senior citizens."

List of states going to polls in various phases

Single Phase Polls: 22 states and UTs

Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh,  Goa, Gujarat, Haryana , Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, Delhi, Chandigarh, Pondicherry

Two Phase Polls: Four States

Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura.

Three Phase Polls: Two States

Assam, Chhattisgarh

Four Phase Polls: Four states

Jharkahand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha

Five Phase Polls:

Jammu and Kashmir

Six Phase Polls:  No state

Seven Phase Polls: Three States

Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal