June 14, 2024 17:34 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
NEET-UG 2024: Supreme Court issues notice to Centre, NTA on pleas seeking CBI probe into paper leak | BJP worshipped Lord Ram but stopped at 241 due to arrogance, says RSS leader days after Mohan Bhagwat's veiled attack on Modi's party | IAF special flight carrying mortal remains of 45 Indians killed in Kuwait fire lands in Kochi | Priyanka Gandhi Vadra's poll debut might finally happen, likely to contest bypoll from Wayanad: Reports | Atishi, Raghav Chadha meet Arvind Kejriwal in jail; directed to resolve water, power crisis
Congress moves Supreme Court to challenge V-P Naidu's rejection of impeachment motion against CJI Misra

Congress moves Supreme Court to challenge V-P Naidu's rejection of impeachment motion against CJI Misra

| @indiablooms | 07 May 2018, 11:59 am

New Delhi, May 7 (IBNS): The Congress MPs on Monday moved the Supreme Court to challenge Vice President Venkaiah Naidu's rejection of impeachment motion, which was brought against Chief Justice Of India, Dipak Misra, media reports said.

Naidu had rejected the motion, which was brought by seven opposition parties, including the Congress.

Naidu earlier consulted legal experts on whether the opposition's notice for impeachment of Misra will be accepted or rejected.

As the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, he is the only person to decide on the issue.

Leaders of seven opposition parties had submitted a notice for the impeachment of Misra to Naidu, reports said.

The move by the opposition came in the wake of the Supreme Court (SC) judgment, which dismissed the demand for an investigation into the death of CBI judge BH Loya.

As many as 64 members of the Rajya Sabha, belonging to seven political parties, signed the notice for impeachment proceedings against the CJI.

The MPs were from Congress, NCP, CPM, CPI, SP, BSP and Muslim League.

The notice mentioned five grounds of misbehaviour for the CJI's impeachment.

The impeachment move has its genesis in the public complaint made by four senior judges of the top court- Justices Jasti Chelameswar, Ranjan Gogoi, Madan B Lokur and Kurian Joseph-  that cases with far reaching consequences were assigned to selective judges.

Justice Chelameswar, who represented the four judges in an unprecedented press conference, said they had approached the CJI with a letter but failed to convince him.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.