June 25, 2024 07:16 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Replace Mumbai unit chief: Maharashtra Congress leaders write to Mallikarjun Kharge | 'Do I have to sweep the streets now?' Mamata Banerjee pulls up civic body chiefs | Jhansi: Woman shot dead by ex-boyfriend while getting bridal make-up hours before wedding | 'Are you defending LG?' Supreme Court slams authorities on Delhi tree cutting | INDIA bloc protests in Parliament premise 'to save democracy'
Live: Results of West Bengal's Bhabanipur bypolls 2021
Bengal politics | Bhabanipur bypoll
(From L to R) Mamata Banerjee, Priyanka Tibrewal and Srijib Biswas

Live: Results of West Bengal's Bhabanipur bypolls 2021

| @indiablooms | 03 Oct 2021, 08:17 am

The results for the high voltage bypoll in West Bengal's Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is a candidate, are coming out on Sunday. The elctoral battle is a must win for Mamata Banerjee in order to remain the West Bengal Chief Minister. The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of West Bengal Minister and TMC veteran Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay. Chattopadhyay resigned to pave the way for Banerjee to contest and get elected to the assembly after she was defeated by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram.To challenge Banerjee, the BJP has fielded lawyer Priyanka Tibrewal, the Left has nominated young advocate Srijib Biswas while the Congress decided not to contest in a gesture to the ruling party in a changed political scenario. Follow all update here:

LIVE Updates

Mamata wins Bhabanipur battle by over 58,000 votes, breaks her 2011 record

03 Oct 2021, 02:31 pm

Almost decimating the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Bhabanipur bypoll, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee Sunday won the electoral contest by 58,832 votes, breaching her own 2011 record. 

(Image Credit: UNI)

No victory celebration after counting: EC tells WB chief secretary

03 Oct 2021, 12:42 pm

The Election Commission on Sunday wrote to West Bengal Chief Secretary stating that no victory celebration or procession during and after counting shall be allowed.

"The State govt must ensure that adequate steps are taken so that no post poll violence takes place," the EC said.

People of Bhabanipur have chosen the leader of this nation, come 2024: Firhad Hakim

03 Oct 2021, 12:39 pm

As West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is eyeing win in the Bhabanipur bypolls, TMC leader Firhad Hakim said people of this constituency have chosen the leader of this nation, come 2024!

"This moment is the most special moment for each and every single person in #Bengal who firmly stood beside #MamataBanerjee in her journey, through thick and thin! People of Bhabanipur have chosen the leader of this nation, come 2024!" he wteeted.


Mamata Banerjee eyes massive win, BJP and Left struggle

03 Oct 2021, 12:28 pm

West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo, Mamata Banerjee, is set to storm into the assembly with a massive victory in Bhabanipur bypoll as her leads continue to amplify with every round of vote counting.

As per latest update, Banerjee is ahead of her nearest opponent from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Priyanka Tibrewal, by 33,982 votes after 11 rounds of counting.

Trinamool Congress going ahead in all three bypolls in Bengal

03 Oct 2021, 12:08 pm

The ruling Trinamool Congress is marching ahead in all the three Assembly constituencies of Bhabanipur, Jangipur and Samshergunj counting for which began at 8 AM this morning.

Mamata Banerjee takes lead by 25, 314 votes after 7th round of counting

03 Oct 2021, 11:36 am

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee takes lead by 25,314 votes in Bhabanipur bypolls. She is followed by BJP's Priyanka Tibrewal.


Mamata Banerjee leads Bhabanipur bypoll by over 12000 votes: Election Commission

03 Oct 2021, 11:09 am

West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee is currently leading by 12,435 votes as counting is underway for the Bhabanipur byelection. As per the Election Commission website after the fourth round, Banerjee has bagged 16397 votes. She is followed by BJP's Priyanka Tibrewal with 3962 votes. While Left candidate Srijib Biswas is struggling at the third position with 315 votes.

Mamata Banerjee leads after second & third round of counting : EC website

03 Oct 2021, 10:36 am

TMC candidate and CM Mamata Banerjee is leading in Bhabanipur constituency after second round of counting by 2,377 votes. BJP's Priyanka Tibrewal is presently occupying the second position. Latest trends stated that Banerjee is also leading in the third round by 6,146 votes with the Left continuing in the third position.

Mamata Banerjee leading in Bhabanipur constituency by 2799 votes: EC

03 Oct 2021, 09:16 am

TMC candidate and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is leading in the high-octane Bhabanipur bypolls' counting by 2799 votes, the Election Commission said. TMC is also leading in Shamsherganj and Jangipur.

Confident that Mamata Banerjee will win by a huge margin: Firhad Hakim

03 Oct 2021, 09:13 am

TMC leader Firhad Hakim Sunday said he is confident that Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will win the Bhabanipur bypoll. "The results will be very good. We are confident of winning. Mamata Banerjee will win by huge margin around 50,000 to 80,000 votes," he added.

I have delivered my best: BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal

03 Oct 2021, 08:59 am

A confident BJP candiate Priyanka Tibrewal said she has delivered her best. "Let's see what people have decided with their votes. I have given my exam with best preparation. Now if the invigilators have allowed cheating then I have nothing else to do. Let's hope for the best," she said.

Image Credit: Facebook/Priyanka Tibrewal

Counting of votes begins

03 Oct 2021, 08:20 am

The counting of votes for the Bhabanipur bypoll began on Sunday amid high anticipation. There will be 21 rounds of counting. Counting is also underway in Bengal's Jangipur and Shamshergunj constituencies.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.