June 25, 2022 12:43 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Supreme Court took away Constitutional right from Americans': Joe Biden on abortion ruling | Covid-19: Telangana records 493 new cases | US Supreme Court strikes down right to abortion | Sharad Pawar meets Uddhav Thackeray as more rebels join Eknath Shinde camp | As Shiv Sena seeks disqualification of rebels, 2 MLAs move against key decision-maker
Bengal Polls 2021: First phase of voting underway West Bengal Election 2021
(From L to R) Mamata Banerjee, Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, Biman Bose, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

Bengal Polls 2021: First phase of voting underway

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Mar 2021, 10:42 am

The first phase of voting in the West Bengal Election 2021 is underway on Saturday. The elections are being held in 30 assembly constituencies in five districts, East Medinipur, West Medinipur, Jhargram, Purulia and Bankura. 191 candidates from various political parties are in the fray in the electoral contest. The contest is heavily polarised between the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) and prime challenger Bharatiya Jaata Party (BJP) in this year's polls. 

LIVE Updates

First phase of West Bengal polls end with nearly 80% voters exercising their franchise

27 Mar 2021, 09:21 pm

Barring a few sporadic incidents, the first of the eight-phase West Bengal Assembly election passed off peacefully with 80 per cent electorate exercising their franchise on Saturday, an Election Commission (EC) official here said.


Bengal Assembly Polls: 79.79 percent polling till 5 pm

27 Mar 2021, 06:39 pm

East Medinipur: 82.42%

West Medinipur: 80.16%

Jhargram: 80.55%

Purulia: 77.13%

Bankura: 80.03%

Kailash Vijayvargiya thanks EC for conducting peaceful polls in Bengal

27 Mar 2021, 05:42 pm

BJP's national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya on Saturday thanked the Election Commission for conducting peaceful polls in West Bengal in four decades and accused chief minster and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee of calling Suvendu Adhikari's polling agent on phone to help her in Nandigram election.

Addressing the media Kailash Vijayvargiya claimed that about 90 percent polling was peaceful and demanded arrest of all booked criminals for 100 percent peaceful polling in the 2nd phase on April 1.

West Bengal on Saturday witnessed the first phase poll to 30 seats in five Jangalmahal districts - Medinipur East and West, Purulia, Jhargram and Purulia where nearly 55 per cent polled was recorded upto 1 pm.

"I have been in West Bengal for past six years and never experienced such peaceful polling since 2016 and I believed this election is so far very peaceful in past 4 decades," Mr Vijayvargiya said.

West Bengal: 70.17 percent voting held till 3 pm

27 Mar 2021, 04:42 pm

East midnapore 72.38

West midnapore 68.76

Jhargram 72.10

Purulia 69.24

Bakura 68.03

West Bengal Assembly Polls: Around 54.90 pc electorate exercise franchise till 1400 hrs

27 Mar 2021, 03:04 pm

Around 54.90 per cent turnout was recorded in Bengal till 1400 hours on Saturday, an Election Commission (EC) official here said.

While Bankura recorded 57.40% voting, Jhargram registered 59.23%, Paschim Medinipur: 52.60%, Purbo Medinipur: 57.75% and Purulia: 51.42%.

Around 40.73 pc polling recorded in Bengal till 1330 hours on Saturday

27 Mar 2021, 03:03 pm

Amidst sporadic violence, around 40.73 pc turnout was recorded in Bengal till 1330 hours on Saturday, an Election Commission (EC) official here said.

Voting is peaceful 90 per cent: BJP

27 Mar 2021, 02:58 pm

BJP leader Kailash Vijayvargiya, "We met the CEO West Bengal to thank him as the state witnessed an election with very low number of violence after a long time. People casted their votes freely in more than 90% polling booths.

"We requested the ECI to take necessary actions to ensure free, fair and peaceful elections in 100% booths from second phase."

Kolkata: Crude bombs recovered in Beniapukur

27 Mar 2021, 02:20 pm

As many as 26 crude bombs were recovered from a building in Kolkata's Beniapukur area on Friday midnight, hours before the first phase of West Bengal assembly polls.

TMC's Purulia candidate Sujoy Banerjee threatens BJP leader to shoot

27 Mar 2021, 02:18 pm

ECI seeks report after TMC's Purulia candidate Sujoy Banerjee was seen threatening a BJP leader to shoot during an altercation outside a polling station.


Around 36.09% turnout recorded till 12 noon

27 Mar 2021, 01:34 pm

Around 36.09% turnout was recorded in West Bengal till 12 noon on Saturday, an Election Commission (EC) official here said.

Suvendu Adhikari's Soumendu 's car vandalised in Kanthi

27 Mar 2021, 01:15 pm

TMC-turned-BJP leader and Suvendu Adhikari's brother Soumendu Adhikari's car was vandalised and its driver was beaten up allegedly by TMC at Sabajpur area in East Medinipur's Kanthi on Saturday noon.

Around 7.72 pc turnout recorded in Bengal till 9 am

27 Mar 2021, 11:45 am

Around 7.72 per cent turnout was recorded in West Bengal till 9 AM on Saturday, an Election Commission (EC) official here said.

East Medinipur: Bomb attack injures office-in-charge and CISF jawan

27 Mar 2021, 11:26 am

Officer-in-charge of Patashpur, Dipak Kumar Chakraborty, and a CISF jawan suffered splinter injuries in a crude bomb attack at Satshatmal area in East Medinipur on the wee hours of Saturday when cops were trying to intervene in a clash between TMC and BJP.

Four persons have been detained.

West Midnapur: BJP alleges its supporter was killed by TMC men

27 Mar 2021, 11:08 am

A man, identified as Mangal Soren, was found dead in the yard of his house at Begampur area in West Medinipur's Keshiary on Saturday morning. BJP claimed that the man was their supporter and TMC men had killed him somewhere else and later dumped the body in the yard.

Local police reached the scene and submitted a primary report to the ECI. Sources in the ECI said that the death was not occured dut to any political clash as per the ground reports. The body has been sent for autopsy, investigation initiated.

BJP MP Saumitra Khan casts vote in Saltora

27 Mar 2021, 11:07 am

BJP Lok Sabha MP from Bishnupur casts his vote in Saltora. 


10-member TMC delegation to meet EC at 12 pm

27 Mar 2021, 10:59 am

A 10-member TMC Parliamentary delegation led by Sudip Bandyopadhyay, leader Lok Sabha and Derek O'Brien, leader Rajya Sabha to meet Election Commission in Kolkata at 12 noon. 

Kanthi: Voters allege their votes were transferred to BJP

27 Mar 2021, 10:57 am

Several voters, believed to be TMC workers, have alleged in some polling booths of Kanthi's Maajana that their VVPAT slips showed BJP's symbol while they had voted for the TMC. The voting was stopped briefly. 

TMC accused of attacking CPI-M candidate Susanta Ghosh, media personnel in Salboni, 4 arrested

27 Mar 2021, 10:48 am

CPI-M candidate Susanta Ghosh and his vehicle was attacked allegedly by Trinamool Congress workers near a polling station at Chototara village in West Medinipur's Salboni on Saturday morning.

Several media personnel covering the incident were also attacked and multiple media vehicles were vandalized. Police took Susanta Ghosh out of the area unhurt. Four persons have been arrested in connection with the case.

Mamata Banerjee appeals people of Bengal to cast their votes

27 Mar 2021, 10:47 am

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee tweeted, "I call upon the people of Bengal to exercise their democratic right by coming out and voting in large numbers."


PM Modi appeals to people to cast votes

27 Mar 2021, 10:45 am

Modi tweeted, "Today, Phase 1 of the West Bengal Assembly elections begin. I would request all those who are voters in the seats polling today to exercise their franchise in record numbers."