June 22, 2021 07:46 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Highly unfair': India on Tokyo Olympics' protocols for Covid-hit nations | No video call: UP Police reject Twitter India head's offer to appear virtually | 21 cases of Delta COVID variant detected in Maharashtra so far: State health minister | Don't believe third front can successfully challenge BJP: Prashant Kishor ahead of Sharad Pawar's meet | Centre proposes changes to e-commerce rules, bans flash sales
IIM Calcutta holds its 2021 Convocation online Education

IIM Calcutta holds its 2021 Convocation online

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 15 May 2021, 10:42 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Indian Institute of Management Calcutta conducted its Annual Convocation 2021 through a virtual ceremony on May 15.

IIM Calcutta alumnus and Chief Economic Advisor to the Union government, Dr Krishnamurthy Subramanian was the Chief Guest along with Shrikrishna Kulkarni, Chairperson - Board of Governors, IIM Calcutta and Dr.Subir Bhattacharya, Director-in-charge, IIM Calcutta.

Degrees were awarded to 462 students of the 56th batch of the two-year flagship MBA programme and to 61 students from the one-year MBAEx Programme.

Diplomas were awarded to 36 students from the Post Graduate Programme for Executives for Visionary Leadership in Manufacturing (PGPEX VLM) and to 57 students from Post Graduate Diploma in Business Analytics (PGDBA).

The Institute also conferred 14 students with their PhD degrees.

Commencing this year, a new doctoral student award 'Nirmal Chandra Memorial Doctoral Student Award' has been instituted for PhD graduating candidates obtaining the highest CGPA.

The e-ceremony began with the introduction of the Chief Guest and the presentation of Annual Report by Dr. Subir Bhattacharya, Director-in-charge.

This was followed by the address of the Chairperson, Board of Governors Shrikrishna Kulkarni.

The Convocation Address was delivered by Dr Krishnamurthy Subramanian.

Under Doctoral Studies, The Satish K Sehgal Doctoral Student Award for excellence in scholarship and organizational citizenship was awarded to Rishikesan Parthiban.

The Best Publication Award by IIM Calcutta Alumni Association Mumbai Chapter was awarded to Vivek G. Nair, and the newly newly instituted Nirmal Chandra Memorial Doctoral Student Award was awarded to Priyanshu Gupta for obtaining the highest CGPA during his doctoral studies at the Institute.

Under the two-year MBA Degree Programme, first rank holders Arpit Bajaj and Himanshu Mahalka were awarded with Dr. B C Roy Gold Medal, Chairman’s Prize, John Wynne Prize, Calcutta Management Association Trophy, P C Chandra Silver Medal for First Rank holder and IIMC Alumni Association Calcutta Chapter prize.

Their names will be included in the Institute’s Honour Roll.

As the third rank holder, Ramandeep Singh Saini received TIL Award, IIMC Alumni Association, Calcutta Chapter Award for Outstanding Academic Performance for 3rd Rank Holder, Dr. B.S. Dua Memorial Prize for Third Rank holder and his name will appear on the Institute’s Honour Roll.

Under the one-year MBAEx Programme, Saunak Saikia was awarded with the Gold Medal, sponsored by the Calcutta Chapter of the IIMC Alumni Association, Institute Book Prize, Book Prize sponsored by Taylor & Francis Group, and will have his name in the Director’s merit list.

Ramit Batra, who ranked second, received a Silver Medal sponsored by the IIMC PGPEX First Batch Alumni along with other prizes and will have his name in the Director’s merit list.

Himanshu Jain, ranked third, received a Silver Medal sponsored by the IIMC PGPEX Fourth Batch Alumni along with other prizes and will have his name in the Director’s merit list.

Under the one-year PGPEX - VLM, Abinash Pani received PGPEX-VLMP Gold Medal for First Rank Holder, Bikram Keshari Panda received JICA Gold Medal for Second Rank Holder and Sai Sandeep V received IIMC Alumni Association Calcutta Chapter Gold Medal for Third Rank Holder.

Their names will be on the Directors’ Merit List.

Under PGDBA, first rank holder Askar Babu U received a gold memento, Rs. 50,000 as cash prize and a merit certificate.

While second rank holder Vanya Sinha got Rs. 40,000 as cash prize and a merit certificate and third rank holder Vidyadhar Mudium got Rs. 30,000 as cash prize and a merit certificate.

The e-ceremony concluded with a vote of thanks and the singing of the national anthem.