August 14, 2020 22:33 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Centre responded to Covid-19 pandemic 'well in time', says Ram Nath Kovind in address on eve of I-Day | Assam: Police recover huge cache of arms-ammunition | CBI for SSR: Bollywood actors demand justice for Sushant Singh Rajput | Pranab Mukherjee's health condition still critical: Former President's daughter Sharmistha | Supreme Court holds Prashant Bhushan guilty of contempt of court
Two Canadians to receive U.S. Presidential Medal of Freedom
Wikemedia Commons

Two Canadians to receive U.S. Presidential Medal of Freedom

India Blooms News Service | | 19 Nov 2016, 12:31 am
Toronto, Nov 18 (IBNS): U.S. President Barack Obama announced Wednesday that Toronto-born Frank Gehry and Lorne Michaels are on list of the 21 new honourees of America's highest civilian honour: the Presidential Medal of Freedom, media reports said.

Gehry is a world-famous architect responsible for some of the best-known buildings including the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, the Dancing House in Prague, and the Guggenheim Museum building in Bilbao, Spain. He was also responsible for redesigning the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto.

Michaels is best known for his creations and producing legendary sketch comedy series Saturday Night Live and is a 13-time Emmy winner. He has also produced The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, Late Night with Seth Meyers and the popular sitcom 30 Rock.

The awards will be presented at the White House on November 22.

"The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation's highest civilian honour — it's a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better," Obama said in a statement.

"From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way,” Obama explained.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom will be the latest honours for actor Robert De Niro, and singer-songwriter Bruce Springsteen.

The complete list of honourees are: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Elouise Cobell (posthumous), Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Richard Garwin, Bill and Melinda Gates, Frank Gehry, Margaret H. Hamilton, Tom Hanks, Grace Hopper (posthumous), Michael Jordan, Maya Lin, Lorne Michaels, Newt Minow, Eduardo Padrón, Robert Redford, Diana Ross, Vin Scully, Bruce Springsteen, Cicely Tyson.

(Reported by Asha Bajaj)