October 21, 2021 17:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Girl students will get smartphones, graduates scooty if Cong wins UP: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra | Drug case: Bombay HC will hear Aryan Khan's bail plea on Oct 26 | Drug case: NCB officials at residences of Ananya Panday and SRK | Shah Rukh Khan meets son Aryan arrested in drug case | Triumph of science, enterprise, collective spirit of India: PM Modi as India crosses 100 crore vaccination milestone
Jagmeet Singh among 18 Indo-Canadians who emerged victorious in Canada snap poll Canada Polls
Image Credit: Twitter/Jagmeet Singh

Jagmeet Singh among 18 Indo-Canadians who emerged victorious in Canada snap poll

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 22 Sep 2021, 06:52 pm

Ottawa/IBNS: Canada's new House of Commons will have a healthy representation from the Indo-Canadians as New Democratic Party (NDP)'s Jagdeep Singh and 17 others emerged victorious in the recently concluded snap national election in the country.

The three Indo-Canadians, who were in the dissolved cabinet of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, have won.

Jagmeet Singh, a popular politician, once again won from Burnaby South with an approximately 38 per cent of the total votes polled.

Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan was reelected from Vancouver South, Trudeau's "minister for vaccines" Anita Anand retained her seat in Ontario among others.

Interestingly, Liberal Party's George Chahal defeated Conservative MP Jag Sahota at a seat in Alberta.

Among the sitting MPs who won from Greater Toronto Area are former parliamentary secretary Kamal Khera, Ruby Sahota, Sonia Sidhu and Arif Virani.

Trudeau will continue to remain in power as his Liberal Party has won the snap poll in the country but fell short of the majority mark in an almost repeat of the 2019 poll results.

The fate of Canadians as well as Trudeau, who wanted to turn his minority government into a majority one through the snap poll, remained the same as the Prime Minister will have to get support from others to remain in power.