December 06, 2022 03:28 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi chairs all-party meet over India's G20 presidency | 'Cocaine started coming into India': Nirmala Sitharaman warns officers, asks to up vigil | BJP to sweep Gujarat, faces tight fight with Congress in Himachal, AAP to win Delhi civic elections: Exit poll | FIFA World Cup 2022: England sail into quarterfinals with 3-0 win over Senegal | Supreme Court junks plea on Taj Mahal age
PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif becomes new Pakistan PM Shehbaz Sharif
Image: Shehbaz Sharif Instagram page

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif becomes new Pakistan PM

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Apr 2022, 06:04 pm

Pakistan's key opposition leader and PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif was elected as the 23rd PM of Pakistan on Monday, starting a new political chapter in the history of the nation.

He was elected as the PM after  174 lawmakers voted in his favour as Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNAs boycotted the election.

Earlier, PTI MNAs had walked out of the halls, with Shah Mahmood Qureshi — who was the party's candidate for the top slot — announcing that they would be resigning en masse from the NA, reports Dawn News.

PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq presided over the session after Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri his conscience did not allow him to conduct the session.

The development occurred just two days after Imran Khan's tenure as PM of Pakistan ended  through a no-confidence vote.

Meanwhile, Imran Khan tweeted: "Thank you to all Pakistanis for their amazing outpouring of support & emotions to protest against US-backed regime change abetted by local Mir Jafars to bring into power a coterie of pliable crooks all out on bail. Shows Pakistanis at home & abroad have emphatically rejected this."