September 28, 2020 16:52 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Protest against farm bills: Tractor set on fire in Delhi, 5 arrested | NCB officers forced me to falsely implicate Karan Johar: Film Executive Kshitij Prasad on Drug Case | CASO resumes in Kashmir's Pulwama, 2 LeT militants killed so far | Kashmir: Security forces launch search operation in Budgam | Kashmir: Man injured in explosion near Anantnag encounter site, dies
Sri Lanka bans passengers from 11 countries

Sri Lanka bans passengers from 11 countries

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 13 Mar 2020, 04:00 pm

Colombo/UNI: In a bid to prevent COVID-19 from spreading in the country, Sri Lanka's Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) on Friday announced that it has banned passengers from 11 countries from visiting the island nation.

Accordingly, the CAA said that all passengers from France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, Sweden and Austria will be banned for two weeks with effect from March 15, Xinhua said in a report.

Earlier Friday, the CAA announced that passengers from South Korea, Iran and Italy had been banned from visiting Sri Lanka for 2 weeks.

According to CAA' statement, during the aforementioned period, all airlines were strongly instructed not to board any passengers, who were either originating from the listed countries or who had been to these countries within the last 14 days, on any of their flights destined to Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka has reported two positive cases of COVID-19 and strict preventive measures are in place by the Health Ministry to prevent a further spread.