October 31, 2020 09:34 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi inaugurates development projects in Gujarat's Kevadia | Pakistan: Protesters attempt to storm French Embassy in Islamabad, police fire teargas | Eyes on 2021 poll, BJP chief JP Nadda to visit West Bengal again on Nov 6 | EC revokes Kamal Nath's star campaigner status over 'repeated violations' ahead of MP by-polls | LeT behind killing of 3 Kashmir BJP workers, vehicle used by militants seized: IGP
Panthapath hotel attack: Police press charges against 14 terrorists

Panthapath hotel attack: Police press charges against 14 terrorists

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 09 Dec 2019, 10:20 am

Dhaka/IBNS: Police on Monday pressed charges against 14 activists of the banned militant outfit “Neo JMB” in a case connected with the blast in a Dhaka hotel in 2017.

The blast occurred on Aug 15, 2017 in Panthapath area.

Raju Ahmed, inspector of The Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) unit and also investigation officer of the case, submitted the charge sheet to the Dhaka Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Court today, reported The Daily Star.

On August 15, 2017, a suspected suicide bomber of “Neo JMB” was killed during an anti-militancy operation at a Dhaka hotel as counter-terrorism officials claim he had planned to carry out an attack on the crowd paying homage to Bangabandhu on National Mourning Day at Dhanmondi 32, reported the news paper.

The 14 accused are: Akram Hossain Khan Niloy, his parents Abu Turab Khan and Sadia Hosna Lucky, sister Tazrin Khanom Shuvo, Tanvir Yasin Karim, Tanvir’s wife Humayra Jakir alias Nabila, Abdullah alias Aichan Kabiraj alias Rafik, Abul Kashem Fakir alias Abu, Nazmul Hasan Mamun, Md Tajul Islam alias Choton alias Mohammad alias Fahim, Tarek Mohammad alias Adnan, Lulu Sarder alias Shahid, Kamrul Islam Khan alias Shakil, and Abdullah, reported Dhaka Tribune.

All the accused persons are members of New JMB.