May 26, 2022 06:58 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Kashmir: 35-year-old TikTok artist shot dead by terrorists in Budgam | Minor girl gang-raped in Assam’s Kokrajhar, three arrested | Andhra Pradesh Minister's house set ablaze after district renamed | PM Modi meets Japan counterpart Fumio Kishida in Tokyo, pitches investment opportunities in India | BJP top leaders meet to discuss Rajya Sabha nominations, July's Presidential poll

Centre clears proposal to buy VVPAT-enabled voting machines

New Delhi, Apr 19 (IBNS) : The Government on Wednesday cleared the proposal of the Election Commission (EC) to buy new VVPAT-enabled EVM machines that prints a paper receipt for each vote cast, reports said.

Lookout Notice against TTV Dinakaran by Delhi police

New Delhi/Chennai, Apr 19 (IBNS) : A day after the rival factions of Tamil Nadu's ruling AIADMK agreed to oust party General Secretary V Sasikala and her tainted nephew TTV Dinakaran, the Delhi police on Wednesday issued a lookout notice against the latter in a case of alleged bribery to officials of the Election Commission of India, media reports said.

Delhi police files bribery case against Sasikala nephew TTV Dinakaran

New Delhi, Apr 17 (IBNS) : The Delhi police on Monday registered a criminal case against AIADMK chief VK Sasikala's nephew TTV Dinakaran on the charge of attempting to bribe the Election Commission of India, The Times of India reported..

Veerappa Moily speaks against Congress' stand on EVM

New Delhi, Apr 12 (IBNS) : Opposing the stand of his party against the use of electronic voting machines, senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily on Wednesday said there is no question of going back to ballot system, reports said.

Election Commission bans exit polls for Lok Sabha bypolls in Kashmir

Srinagar, Apr 1 (IBNS) : The Election Commission of India (ECI) has banned exit polls for Lok Sabha by-elections in Jammu and Kashmir, scheduled to be held between April 9 and April 16.

EC freezes AIADMK party symbol ahead of by-election

New Delhi, Mar 22 (IBNS): The Election Commission has frozen the party symbol of AIADMK over the dispute between Sasikala and Paneerselvam camps ahead of by-election in late former CM J Jayalalitha's constituency, media reports on Wednesday.

Election Commission rejects AAP's plea to use ballot papers in MCD elections

New Delhi, Mar 14 (IBNS): The Election Commission on Tuesday rejected the plea of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) to use ballot papers over Electronic Voting Machines in the upcoming Municipal Corporation election of Delhi.

EC imposes ban on exit polls during state assembly elections of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh

New Delhi, Mar 4 (IBNS): The Election Commission had notified the period of prohibition of conduct of Exit polls for on-going State legislative assembly elections of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh vide Notification dated- Jan 27.

PM Modi greets nation on National Voters’ Day

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IBNS): Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday greeted the country on the ocassion of National Voters’ Day.

Assembly polls: EC asks govt not to announce state-specific schemes in budget

New Delhi, Jan 24 (IBNS): Keeping the upcoming Assembly polls in several Indian states in mind, the Election Commission on Monday asked the government not to announce any state-specific schemes in the budget.

Election 2017: EC pulls up NITI Aayog for holding programmes in poll-bound states on Republic Day

New Delhi, Jan 21 (IBNS): The Election Commission (EC) has asked NITI Aayog not to hold special Gram Sabhas in panchayats on Republic Day in five poll-bound states, according to media reports.

EC issues notice to BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj for his alleged remarks against the minorities

New Delhi, Jan 10 (IBNS): The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday has issued notice to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Sakhshi Maharaj for his remarks against minorities, according to media reports.

EC announces Assembly election dates in five states

New Delhi, Jan 4 (IBNS) : The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the dates and phases of Assembly elections for 5 states - Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur, and Goa- to be held between February 4 and March 8.

Election Commission announces state poll dates

New Delhi, Jan 4 (IBNS) The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday announced the poll dates for the five states of Goa, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh (UP), Uttarakhand and Manipur with the balloting beginning from Feb 4. UP is going for a seven-phase polls.

Samajwadi Party feud :Amar Singh declares support to Mulayam, both factions in Delhi over party symbol

Lucknow, Jan 2 (IBNS) : The in-house war of Uttar Pradesh's ruling Samajwadi Party shifted to the national capital on Monday with leaders of both the factions arriving in Delhi staking claims over the party's symbol, which SP patriarch Mulyam Singh Yadav said is his "own signature," reports said.