September 27, 2022 10:10 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Conspiracy to remove Ashok Gehlot': Rajasthan MLA accuses Ajay Maken of aiding Sachin Pilot | Gunbattle erupts in Kashmir's Kulgam after security forces receive input on militants' presence | Jaishankar slams US media over 'biased' coverage of India | Money laundering case: Jacqueline Fernandez granted interim bail | Rahul Gandhi-led Congress' Bharat Jodo Yatra resumes
Virat Kohli receives Polly Umrigar Award, says Anushka's presence made it 'special'

Virat Kohli receives Polly Umrigar Award, says Anushka's presence made it 'special'

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 13 Jun 2018, 10:53 am

Mumbai, Jun 13 (IBNS): Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli on Tuesday received the Polly Umrigar Award for his brilliant performances with bat in the last two seasons.

The award was handed over to Kohli by former Indian cricketer and present head coach of the national team Ravi Shastri.

Kohli, however, didn't miss the opportunity to take his wife and actress Anushka Sharma's name.

Anushka was present with Kohli at the award ceremony.

In a video shared by one of Kohli's fans on Twitter, the Indian skipper could be seen speaking about his spouse.

Referring to Anushka, Kohli said: "My wife is here today so makes it more special." (sic)

Kohli was awarded for being the best international cricketer in 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons.

The BCCI Awards recognised and honoured the top domestic and international cricketers across all age groups.

While Kohli got top honours in the men’s category, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana became the maiden recipients of the award for best international cricketer (women) for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons respectively.

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) was adjudged the best state association owing to their consistent performances in the BCCI domestic tournaments for the 2016-17 season while the Delhi and District Cricket Association got the prize for the 2017-18 season.