May 23, 2024 17:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Over 300 Indians, who were scammed into working as 'cyber slaves' in Cambodia, returns | Massive explosion at a factory in Thane, 20 evacuated | Mamata govt promoting Muslim League's agenda: BJP president JP Nadda after Calcutta HC's 'OBC quota' verdict | US opposes unilateral recognition of Palestine, says 'state should be achieved via talks' | Pune car accident: Grandfather of 17-year-old accused has underworld connections, paid Chhota Rajan to kill Shiv Sena corporator, chargesheeted
Steve Smith delighted he is retained by Rajasthan Royals for IPL season

Steve Smith delighted he is retained by Rajasthan Royals for IPL season

| @indiablooms | 05 Jan 2018, 06:37 pm

Jaipur, Jan 5 (IBNS): Australian skipper Steve Smith has said he is delighted to be retained in the Rajasthan Royals side for the upcoming IPL season.

"Delighted to be retained by the @rajasthanroyals for IPL 2018! Looking forward to marching with the Royals again. Halla Bol and Happy New Year #VivoIPLonStar," Smith tweeted.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has retained its skipper Virat Kohli for the 11th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) while former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is all set to reunite with his old franchise Chennai Super Kings in the tournament from this year, media reports said.

Chennai Super Kings, which were banned from the tournament for two years, also kept Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja.

Apart from Kohli, Sarfaraz Khan and South African player AB de Villiers have been retained by RCB.

In an interesting move, Kolkata Knight Riders released their two-time trophy winning captain Gautam Gambhir. KKR have retained Windies player Sunil Narine and Andre Russel.

With no surprise, Mumbai Indians retained their captain Rohit Sharma along with Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah.

Australian David Warner and Indian fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Delhi Daredevils kept their young players like Sreyas Iyer and Rishav Pant along with fast bowler Chris Morris.

Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab have retained one player each in their teams. While RR kept Steve Smith, KXIP retained spinner Axar Patel.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, teams banned over match-fixing scandal, will return to IPL from 2018.

Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions, which played in places of CSK and RR, will not feature in the 11th edition of the tournament.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.