September 19, 2020 17:09 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
IPL 2020 begins today with CSK-MI clash | Karnataka drug scandal: Santosh, Akul, Yuvraj appear before CCB | Kashmir: Suspected militants snatch rifle from bank guard in Pulwama | Kashmir: Three armed Lashkar terrorists arrested in Rajouri | NIA officials arrest 9 Al-Qaeda operatives from West Bengal, Kerala

SevenJackpots compare Indias most popular online casino, we love online gambling and are here to help Indian gamblers find the best casino sites with fastest withdrawal options.

Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians script thrilling 1-run victory over Pune, win IPL third time

Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians script thrilling 1-run victory over Pune, win IPL third time

India Blooms News Service | | 22 May 2017, 12:13 am
Hyderabad, May 21 (IBNS): In a thrilling final encounter, Mumbai Indians bowlers put up a heroic show which helped the side beat Steve Smith's Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run to lift the Indian Premier League (IPL) final here on Sunday.

After Mumbai were restricted at 129 runs for the loss of eight wickets, the bowlers came out on the park with a purpose and hit the correct chord to manage a 1-run victory as Pune scored 128 runs for the loss of six wickets.

With just 11 runs needed in the last over for victory, skipper Rohit Sharma handed over the ball to Australian pacer Johnson.

Johnson bowled one brilliant over as he picked up wickets of Manoj Tiwary (7) and RPS skipper Steve Smith (51) to script a memorable victory.

Pune made a patient start and looked determined to sail the team to victory with Ajinkya Rahane playing a sensible knock after losing the initial wicket of Rahul Tripathi (3).

But after Rahane (44) departed, Steve Smith started to take the task of carrying the duty of taking the side towards victory on his shoulder.

Smith played a heroic knock of 51 runs, smashing two boundaries and equal number of sixes ion his 50-ball knock.

Smith's departure in the last over ended all hopes for Mumbai fans.

MS Dhoni contributed 10 runs with his willow and failed to deliver for his side on this crucial evening.

Mumbai Indian bowlers were brilliant on Sunday night to help their side defend a low total.

Johnson took three wickets while Jasprit Bumrah picked up three wickets in the match.

Earlier, losing wickets at regular intervals, Mumbai Indians struggled to post 129 runs for the loss of eight wickets against Rising Pune Supergiant in the high-voltage Indian Premier League final here on Sunday.

Jaydev Unadkat gave early troubles to Mumbai batsmen as he picked up wickets of both the openers-Parthiv Patel (4) and Lendl Simmons (4) to make the side struggle at 2-8.

Unadkat picked up a brilliant catch on his own bowling, probably one of the best in the tournament so far, to get rid off Simmons.

Ambati Rayudu (12) and Rohit Sharma (24) departed at a point when it seemed that they were shaping up a partnership after the initial jolts.

It was  Krunal Pandya and his heroic efforts till the end which gave some hopes to Mumbai.

It was his magnificent innings of 38-ball 47 that helped Mumbai post 129 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs.

He hit three boundaries and two sixes in his knock.

Australian spinner Zampa picked up two wickets for RPS.

Washington Sundar bowled brilliantly as he gave away only 13 runs in his tight four overs.

Mumbai Indians won the title for the third time in the history of the tournament which turned 10 this year.

Image: Mumbai Indians Twitter page