July 19, 2024 02:37 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
NEET-UG 2024 retest to be held only if sanctity is lost due to paperleak on large scale: Supreme Court | Avoid travel and minimize movement: India's advisory to its nationals in Bangladesh amid Jatrabari violence | No systemic failure: NTA to Supreme Court on NEET-UG 2024 paper leak | Controversial IAS officer Puja Khedkar's mother Manorama Khedkar detained | US President Joe Biden tests Covid-19 positive with mild symptoms
Bengal Pro T20's 1st season concludes with joint winners in Men’s edition, Murshidabad Kueens win Women’s League title
Bengal Pro T20
Image courtesy: PR Team

Bengal Pro T20's 1st season concludes with joint winners in Men’s edition, Murshidabad Kueens win Women’s League title

| @indiablooms | 01 Jul 2024, 02:22 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: The first season of Bengal Pro T20 League concluded on June 28 with the final match between the Sobisco Smashers Malda and the Murshidabad Kings.

Unfortunately, the final match was abandoned due to rain, with the Murshidabad Kings at 7/0 after 1.1 overs when play was halted.

This disruption followed a thrilling tournament featuring 62 matches from June 11 to June 28 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, including semi-finals where the Sobisco Smashers Malda and Murshidabad Kings emerged victorious against their respective opponents.

Throughout the tournament, the Murshidabad Kings demonstrated consistent performance, which led them to the finals.

Notable performances included key players like Ankur Paul and Priyanshu Srivastava, who played crucial roles in their victories leading up to the final match.

The league saw competitive play from various teams, with standout matches such as the Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers' victory over the Shrachi Rarh Tigers and the Rashmi Medinipur Wizards' win against the Servotec Siliguri Strikers.

The tournament featured a mix of emerging talents and experienced players, showcasing the depth and enthusiasm for cricket in the region.

Meanwhile, the Women's Bengal Pro T20 League too concluded on June 28 with the Murshidabad Kueens emerging as the champions.

They secured the title with a narrow 5-run victory in the final match held in Kolkata's Eden Gardens.

This win highlighted the competitive nature and skill level present in the league.

The Women’s matches will the Semis were played at the Jadavpur University's Salt Lake campus grounds.

Throughout the tournament, the Murshidabad Kueens displayed consistent performance, which was evident from their strong standing in the points table leading up to the final.

Key players like skipper Ankita Chakraborty played crucial roles in their journey to the title.

The league featured a total of seven teams, including the Adamas Howrah Warriors, Shrachi Rarh Tigers, Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Rashmi Medinipur Wizards, and Harbour Diamonds, among others.

Each team showcased promising talents and competitive matches, contributing to the overall success of the league.

The tournament spanned from June 11 to June 28 and was noted for its organization and the enthusiasm it garnered from cricket fans.

The Bengal Pro T20 League, supported by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and Arivaa Sports, aimed to promote cricket talent within the state and provided a platform for local players to compete at a high level.

The league's success has set the stage for future editions, promising even more excitement and opportunities for budding cricketers in Bengal.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.