July 19, 2024 00:48 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
NEET-UG 2024 retest to be held only if sanctity is lost due to paperleak on large scale: Supreme Court | Avoid travel and minimize movement: India's advisory to its nationals in Bangladesh amid Jatrabari violence | No systemic failure: NTA to Supreme Court on NEET-UG 2024 paper leak | Controversial IAS officer Puja Khedkar's mother Manorama Khedkar detained | US President Joe Biden tests Covid-19 positive with mild symptoms
USA reach Super 8 stage of T20 World Cup following washout of Ireland clash, Pakistan eliminated
Photo Courtesy: ICC X page

USA reach Super 8 stage of T20 World Cup following washout of Ireland clash, Pakistan eliminated

| @indiablooms | 15 Jun 2024, 10:37 am

The United States cricket team created history in 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup by securing a place in the Super 8 stage after the match against Ireland was abandoned following heavy rains.

The abandonment of the match also ensured Pakistan was eliminated from the first stage of the tournament, shattering the hearts of fans.

Also Read:New York's T20 World Cup Venue that hosted India vs Pak match to be dismantled

India (Group A), Australia (Group B), Afghanistan (Group C), West Indies (Group C), South Africa (Group D) and USA (Group A) are the six teams who have qualified for the Super Eight thus far.

India, Australia, and Afghanistan will feature in Group 1 of the next round, whereas West Indies, South Africa and USA will feature in Group 2, read the ICC website.

All of these sides bar USA have been unbeaten in their respective groups, and are shaping well ahead of the next round, with the co-hosts achieving history by beating Canada and Pakistan to seal their spot in the Super Eight stage.

The Super Eight stage commences in Antigua on June 19.

Fixtures (as per local time)

19 June: USA v South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

19 June: B1 v West Indies, Gros Islet, St Lucia

20 June: Afghanistan v India, Bridgetown, Barbados

20 June: Australia v D2, North Sound, Antigua

21 June: B1 v South Africa, Gros Islet, St Lucia

21 June: USA v West Indies, Bridgetown, Barbados

22 June: India v D2, North Sound, Antigua

22 June: Afghanistan v Australia, Arnos Vale, St Vincent

23 June: USA v B1, Bridgetown, Barbados

23 June: West Indies v South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

24 June: Australia v India, Gros Islet, St Lucia

24 June: Afghanistan v D2, Arnos Vale, St Vincent


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.