April 13, 2024 12:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Amid unemployment, inflation issues, PM Modi's leadership likely to help his third consecutive term at govt: Survey | AAP to support INDIA bloc 'unconditionally' in UP for Lok Sabha election | Amid threats from Iran, Israel launches massive strike on Gaza | Centre advises citizens to avoid travel to Iran, Israel | Jammu and Kashmir assembly polls soon, statehood to be restored: PM Modi in Udhampur
BCCI drops Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan; doesn't renew their annual contracts BCCI
In images Shreyas Iyers & Ishan Kishan/ courtesy: UNI

BCCI drops Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan; doesn't renew their annual contracts

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Feb 2024, 09:09 pm

Mumbai/IBNS/UNI: The  Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Wednesday said that Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan have not been considered for the annual contracts in this round of annual player contracts for team India for the 2023-24 season.

The BCCI, however, did not give any reason for their omission.

The annual contract announced will be effective from Oct 1, 2023, to Sept 30, 2024.

There are four players in the Grade A+ category, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja.

The Grade A category includes Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, and Hardik Pandya.

Grade B players are Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

There are 15 Grade C players. They are Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar.

Additionally, players who meet the criteria of playing a minimum of 3 Tests or 8 ODIs, or 10 T20Is within the specified period will automatically be included in Grade C on a pro-rata basis.

"For instance, Dhruv Jurel and Sarfaraz Khan, having played 2 Test matches so far, will be inducted into Grade C if they participate in the Dharamsala Test against England," BCCI said.

The Selection Committee also recommended Fast Bowling contracts for Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

The BCCI also recommended that all players give precedence to participating in domestic cricket during periods when they are not representing the national team.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.