March 02, 2024 06:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi court orders Bloomberg to take down 'defamatory' article against Zee | 9 injured as IED blast rocks Bengaluru's Rameshwaram Cafe, CM Siddaramaiah confirms | India expresses 'deep shock' over Israeli soldiers killing civilians at Gaza aid distribution point | 'Raised issues of state': Mamata Banerjee meets PM Modi at Raj Bhavan in Kolkata | Two SFI leaders among those arrested in connection with Kerala student death case
New Zealand announce 13-member ODI squad against Bangladesh New Zealand
Photo courtesy: X/@ICC

New Zealand announce 13-member ODI squad against Bangladesh

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 07 Dec 2023, 12:33 pm

Wellington/UNI: New Zealand have named their 13-member ODI squad to face Bangladesh with maiden call-ups to the fifty-overs squad for three players.

26-year-old all-rounder Josh Clarkson, leg-spinner Adi Ashok and seamer Will O'Rourke are the three potential ODI debutants named in the squad that sees a major reshuffle after the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023.

Ashok, who made his T20I debut in UAE in August, will be part of the squad for the final two games with Ish Sodhi playing the first game.

Tom Latham will lead the side that misses several senior players from the World Cup squad, an ICC report said.

Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips and Devon Conway are not part of the squad.

Michael Bracewell (Achilles), Matt Henry (hamstring), Lockie Ferguson (Achilles), James Neesham (ankle), Ben Lister (hamstring) and Henry Shipley (back) were not considered for selection due to injury, while Trent Boult made himself unavailable.

“Josh Clarkson is someone who, while still only young, has played over 150 matches for the Stags, developing his skills with bat and ball to become a consistent contributor," Blackcaps selector Sam Wells said.

"Adi and Will are both still fresh to domestic cricket but have been impressive in their early efforts and stepped up well this year in the New Zealand A matches against Australia A," Wells said.

"Both offer valuable skill-sets, Adi with impressive control as a young leg spinner, and Will with natural bounce and variation as a tall pace bowler," he added.

The ODI series begins from December 17 with matches in Dunedin, Nelson and Napier.

New Zealand squad: Tom Latham, Adi Ashok (matches 2 and 3), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (match 1), Will Young.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.