April 15, 2024 11:49 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'What else is Congress doing other than looting?': Kangana Ranaut in Himachal Pradesh | Iran could attack Israel sooner than later, warns US President Joe Biden | Amid unemployment, inflation issues, PM Modi's leadership likely to help his third consecutive term at govt: Survey | AAP to support INDIA bloc 'unconditionally' in UP for Lok Sabha election | Amid threats from Iran, Israel launches massive strike on Gaza
Suryakumar Yadav to lead India in T20I series against Australia Suryakumar Yadav
Photo Courtesy: X/BCCI

Suryakumar Yadav to lead India in T20I series against Australia

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 21 Nov 2023, 12:30 am

Mumbai/IBNS/UNI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named Suryakumar Yadav as the captain for the five-game T20I series against Australia.

Fast bowler Prasidh Krishna, who was a late entrant to the World Cup squad, is also a part of the squad.

A majority of the members of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 have been rested after the gruelling tournament and the build-up to it. Only three players—Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan, and Prasidh Krisha—will play in the upcoming T20I series.

On the other hand, Hardik Pandya, who has led India in recent times, is still in recovery mode after his injury and didn't make the squad. The all-rounder injured himself during India’s league stage ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup encounter against Bangladesh in Pune.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who had led India in his comeback T20I series against Ireland, has been rested after a high-intensity World Cup campaign.

Suryakumar has been a prolific performer in the T20I format, having scored 1841 runs at an average of 46.02 and a strike rate of 172.7. He also has three T20I centuries to his name.

The series also marks the return of Axar Patel, who was initially named in the World Cup squad but was later ruled out due to injury.

The players selected for the India team are: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar.

The series runs from November 23 to December 3.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.