June 19, 2024 12:55 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
With Modi's re-election, Justin Trudeau wants to engage on some 'very serious issues' | Fire breaks out at iconic Hollong Bungalow in Bengal's Jalpaiguri | Portion of under-construction bridge collapses in Bihar's Araria | PM Modi performs Ganga aarti in Varanasi on his first visit since LS polls victory | Mamata Banerjee calls on BJP MP Anant Maharaj in Coochbehar, triggers speculation
India win toss, elect to bowl against Australia in first ODI
First ODI
Photo courtesy: Twitter/@BCCI

India win toss, elect to bowl against Australia in first ODI

| @indiablooms | 22 Sep 2023, 01:44 pm

Mohali/IBNS: India's stand-in captain KL Rahul won the toss and elected to bowl first against Australia in the first of three One Day Internationals (ODIs) here on Friday.

Rahul is leading the team as India's regular skipper Rohit Sharma, his deputy Hardik Pandya and star batter Virat Kohli have been rested for the two matches.

Australia captain Pat Cummins said at the toss that Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell were not quite ready.

As was said by India's head coach Rahul Dravid, Suryakumar Yadav is in the playing XI which also features Ravichandran Ashwin, who has made a comeback in the side.

Pinning faith on Ravichandran Ashwin's abilities, Dravid on Thursday said though he has not played a lot of ODI since January 2022, he has the ability to deal with it, having rich experience with him.

"Having someone of Ashwin's experience to come back is always good for us. He has got the ability to be able to contribute with the bat at No. 8.

He is someone who we have always thought of where in case there were certain injuries or opportunities opened up, he was always part of our plans," he said.

India XI: S Gill, R Gaikwad, S Iyer, KL Rahul(C/WK), I Kishan, S Yadav, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, S Thakur, J Bumrah, M Shami

Australia XI: D Warner, M Marsh, S Smith, M Labuschagne, C Green, J Inglis(WK), M Stoinis, M Short, P Cummins(C), S Abbott, A Zampa

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.