December 11, 2023 04:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Karnataka HC grants bail to accused in Gauri Lankesh case | RBI keeps repo rate unchanged at 6.5%, raises FY24 growth forecast to 7% | India's Aditya-L1 Mission captures first-ever full-disk image of Sun | RBI raises UPI transaction limit for hospitals, educational institutions to Rs. 5 lakh | Former Telangana CM KCR suffers hip injury
India announce squad for first two ODIs against Australia, Ashwin returns Ashwin
Photo courtesy: Facebook/Ravichandran Ashwin

India announce squad for first two ODIs against Australia, Ashwin returns

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 19 Sep 2023, 02:36 pm

Mumbai/UNI: India's star spin bowler Ravichandran Ashwin made a comeback into the national side which was announced for the first two ODIs against Australia on Monday.

BCCI's Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar announced the squad for the two games in the three-match bilateral series ahead of the 2023 World Cup.

Ashwin makes a comeback after missing out on ODI matches for more than a year. He apparently made the cut as India, of late, has been putting a bit of emphasis on batting depth.

Senior pros Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya have been rested.

In the absence of Rohit and his deputy Hardik, KL Rahul has been named captain for the first two matches.

Another takeaway is the inclusion of Washington Sundar in the squad in addition to Ashwin. The Chennai lad was replaced with an injured Axar Patel for Asia Cup finals between India and Sri Lanka.

Shtreyas Iyer, who missed a number of games in the just-concluded Asia Cup, has been included in the side.

The bilateral series will kickstart on September 22. The next match will be held in Indore on September 24 and the final match will be played in Rajkot on September 27.

Team India for first 2 ODIs

KL Rahul (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammad Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar.