August 19, 2022 04:07 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Nitin Gadkari launches Ashok Leyland electric double-decker bus in Mumbai | 'Difficult phase after what China did on border': S Jaishankar on ties | Finland PM Sanna Marin faces backlash after leaked video shows her partying wild with friends | Bilkis Bano's rapists are 'Brahmins with good sanskar': BJP MLA | Maharashtra: Arms laden boat that sparked terror scare owned by Australian; international security firm gives new info
U-19 World Cup: India thrash Australia by 96 runs, in final for 4th consecutive time U-19 World Cup
Image Credit: Facebook/Indian Cricket Team

U-19 World Cup: India thrash Australia by 96 runs, in final for 4th consecutive time

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 Feb 2022, 12:11 pm

Antigua/UNI: Riding on captain Yash Dhull and his deputy Shaik Rasheed's 204-run stand for the third wicket followed by a clinical bowling, India knocked out Australia from the Under-19 World Cup to play the final against England.

This will be the fourth consecutive U-19 World Cup final for India and eighth overall.

Chasing 291 runs target, Australia were bowled out for 194 in 41.5 overs.

Spinner Vicky Ostwal ran through the Australia middle-order when the Aussies were making attempts to put themselves back into chasing a mammoth 291 runs target set by India.

Ostwal picked up 3 wickets for 42 runs in 10 overs.

Campbell Kellaway (30) was the first of his victims, followed by William Salzmann (7) and Tobias Snell (4), which twirled the noose around Australian innings.

Other bowlers - Ravi Kumar, Angkrish Raghuvanshi and Nishant Sindhu, picked wickets at regular intervals. While Sindhu and Ravi Kumar bagged two wickets each, Raghuvanshi scalped one.

The middle-order collapse put tremendous pressure on Australia, as a run rate of 9 runs per over was too much of an ask when they needed 100 plus runs.

The Aussies lost by 96 runs.

After electing to bat first Rasheed (94) and Dhull (110) built a 204-run for third wicket which helped India reach 290 for 5, along with a late blitz by Nishant Sindhu (12 no) and Dinesh Bana (20 no).