May 21, 2022 15:56 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Recruitment scam case: CBI summons West Bengal Minister Paresh Adhikari for third time in a row | Parts of Delhi, Gurgaon receive heavy rains today | Textile firm BSL Ltd records Rs 11.48 cr PAT in FY22 | Road rage case: Navjot Singh Sidhu surrenders in Patiala court | Grounded for 3 years, Jet Airways to resume commercial flight operations
Rohit Sharma named India's ODI captain, Virat Kohli's deputy in Tests Rohit Sharma
Image Credit: Facebook/Indian Cricket Team

Rohit Sharma named India's ODI captain, Virat Kohli's deputy in Tests

IBNS | @indiablooms | 08 Dec 2021, 07:58 pm

Mumbai/IBNS: India's senior batsman Rohit Sharma has been made the white ball captain and red ball vice captain of the men's national team.

He will succeed Virat Kohli, who is still the Test captain.

Putting all speculations to rest, the senior selection committee of Indian cricket board (BCCI) on Wednesday named Sharma as the captain of the ODI team going forward.

He was already made India's T20 captain after Kohli stepped down with the conclusion of the World Cup.

Besides the announcement of the ODI captain, the selection committee has announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against South Africa.

In the Tests, Sharma will replace out-of-form Ajinkya Rahane as Kohli's deputy.

India's Test Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.