May 26, 2022 08:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Kashmir: 35-year-old TikTok artist shot dead by terrorists in Budgam | Minor girl gang-raped in Assam’s Kokrajhar, three arrested | Andhra Pradesh Minister's house set ablaze after district renamed | PM Modi meets Japan counterpart Fumio Kishida in Tokyo, pitches investment opportunities in India | BJP top leaders meet to discuss Rajya Sabha nominations, July's Presidential poll
Rohit Sharma's Team India decimate New Zealand in Kolkata, seal T20 series 3-0 INDvNZ
Image Credit: Twitter/BCCI

Rohit Sharma's Team India decimate New Zealand in Kolkata, seal T20 series 3-0

Souvik Ghosh/IBNS | @indiablooms | 22 Nov 2021, 12:29 am

Kolkata/IBNS: Rohit Sharma-led India gave no chance to New Zealand to salvage some respect in the bilateral T20 series, which was already won by the men-in-blue.

In the final T20 match held at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata, India pulled off a stunning victory by 73 runs in an almost one-sided match, winning the series 3-0.

Chasing a target of 185, New Zealand, who were bowled out for 111 in 17.2 overs, were at the brink of the game straightaway losing three wickets in the power play.

The match went nothing better for New Zealand even after the power play as the black caps faced a complete batting collapse with Martin Guptill, who scored 51 off 36 balls, fighting a lone battle.

Glimpse of India-New Zealand match Glimpse of India-New Zealand match

Axar Patel, who took the first wicket in the New Zealand innings, finished with a fantasting bowling figure of 3/9 in three overs.

After playing a key role with the bat, Harshal Patel, the player of the match from Ranchi, scalped two wickets for 26 at the Eden Gardens.

Earlier a captain’s knock by Sharma and cameos from tailenders helped India to post a formidable total of 184/7 in 20 overs.

In absence of KL Rahul, who was rested, openers Sharma and Ishan Kishan gave an ideal start to the Indian innings.

Beginning with two boundaries in the first over, Sharma, backed by his younger partner, put 69/0 in the power play (six overs).

The dream start was ultimately halted by Mitchell Santner, who sent Kishan back to the dugout for 29.

Rohit Sharma | Image Credit: Twitter/BCCI/TwitterRohit Sharma | Image Credit: Twitter/BCCI/Twitter

Santner, who picked three wickets for 21, spared almost no time for Suryakumar Yadav to settle down as the right handed batsman was dismissed for a duck.

Though Sharma, who scored 56 off 31 balls, was going strong in a bid to help India score 200 in 20 overs, he was left alone by wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, who once again played a poor shot to become a victim.

After Sharma was caught and bowled by Ish Sodhi, the innings was carried forward by Shreyas Iyer (25 off 20 balls) and Venkatesh Iyer (20 off 15 balls), who were dismissed back to back in between 16th and 17th overs.

Then came a couple of cameos, Harshal Patel’s 11-ball 18 runs and Deepak Chahar’s 21 off eight balls, from the tailenders to help India go past 180 in a bid to win the series 3-0.