August 16, 2022 13:31 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Policemen, civilian injured in two separate grenade attacks in Kashmir | Nitish Kumar to expand Cabinet tomorrow | Prohibitory orders in Karnataka's Shivamogga after clashes over Savarkar poster | PM Modi renews call to fight corruption, familism on 75th Independence Year amid ED heat on Opposition | India will fuel Techade: PM Modi on I-Day
Kane Williamson to miss T20 Internationals against India, prefers to focus on Test series Kane Williamson
Image: Wallpaper Cave

Kane Williamson to miss T20 Internationals against India, prefers to focus on Test series

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Nov 2021, 01:52 pm

Christchurch: New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, under whose leadership his team played the T20 World final, will miss this week’s three-game T20 series against India as he prioritises preparing for the Test series against the home side.

Australia beat New Zealand by five wickets to clinch the T20 World Cup title.

Williamson and the 15-strong T20 squad arrived in Jaipur on Monday evening ahead of the G.J. Gardner Homes Tour of India.

With the opening game of the T20 series on Wednesday evening, followed by games on Friday and Sunday night - the decision was made for Williamson to join the Test specialist group already training in Jaipur as they focus on red-ball preparation, reports New Zealand Cricket.

Tim Southee will captain the T20 side for the opening game on Wednesday, while Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, and Mitchell Santner are also available for both series.

Lockie Ferguson’s recovery from a right calf-strain continues to progress well and he is expected to be available for the T20 series, reports New Zealand Cricket.

BLACKCAPS T20 squad for India:

Todd Astle

Trent Boult

Mark Chapman

Lockie Ferguson

Martin Guptill

Kyle Jamieson

Adam Milne

Daryl Mitchell

Jimmy Neesham

Glenn Phillips

Mitchell Santner

Tim Seifert (wk)

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee

Kane Williamson

BLACKCAPS Test squad for India:

Kane Williamson (c)

Tom Blundell (wk)

Kyle Jamieson

Tom Latham

Daryl Mitchell

Henry Nicholls

Ajaz Patel

Glenn Phillips

Rachin Ravindra

Mitchell Santner

Will Somerville

Tim Southee

Ross Taylor

Neil Wagner

Will Young

The second Test starts in Mumbai on Dec 3.